Rajasthan Royals Squad 2024

Rajasthan Royals in IPL 2024 [x.com]Rajasthan Royals in IPL 2024 [x.com]

Rajasthan Royals, established in 2008 as a pioneering franchise of the Indian Premier League, hails from Jaipur, Rajasthan. Helmed by Indian businessman Manoj Badale, the team clinched the inaugural IPL championship in 2008 under the astute leadership of Shane Warne. Renowned for their cohesive teamwork and knack for grooming budding talents like Yusuf Pathan and Ravindra Jadeja, the Royals have left an indelible mark in IPL history. 

Despite weathering controversies, notably involving former co-owner Raj Kundra in the 2013 IPL betting scandal, the franchise remains steadfast in its commitment to the sport. As the anticipation builds for the upcoming IPL season commencing on March 22, 2024, let's delve into the RR squad.

Rajasthan Royals Squad List 2024

Sanju Samson (C) Batter14 crore
Jos Buttler ✈️ Batter10 crore
Shimron Hetmyer ✈️
Batter8.5 crore
Yashasvi Jaiswal Batter4 crore
Dhruv Jurel Wicketkeeper 20 lakh
Riyan Parag All-Rounder 3.8 crore
Donovan Ferreira ✈️ Bowler 50 lakh
Kuldeep Sen Bowler20 lakh
Kunal Singh Rathore Wicketkeeper 20 lakh
Navdeep Saini Bowler2.6 crore
R Ashwin All-Rounder 5 crore
Rovman Powell ✈️ Batter7.4 crore
Shubham Dubey Batter10 crore
Adam Zampa ✈️Bowler1.6 crore
Yuzvendra Chahal Bowler6.5 crore
Avesh Khan Bowler10 crore
Sandeep SharmaBowler50 lakh
Trent Boult ✈️Bowler8 crore
Abid Mushtaq Bowler20 lakh
Tom Kohler-Cadmore ✈️ Wicketkeeper40 lakh
Nandre Burger ✈️ Bowler
50 lakh

(✈️ overseas players)

Rajasthan Royals Retained Players List 2024

Sanju Samson (c) 14 crore
Jos Buttler 10 crore
Prasidh Krishna 10 crore
Avesh Khan (traded from LSG) 10 crore
Shimron Hetmyer 8.5 crore
Trent Boult 8 crore
Yuzvendra Chahal 6.5 crore
R Ashwin5 crore
Yashasvi Jaiswal 4 crore
Riyan Parag3.8 crore
Navdeep Saini 2.6 crore
Sandeep Sharma 50 lakh
Donovan Ferreira 50 lakh
Kuldeep Sen20 lakh
Dhruv Jurel 20 lakh
Kunal Singh Rathore 20 lakh

Rajasthan Royals Released 

Joe Root, Abdul Basith, Jason Holder, Akash Vashisht, Kuldip Yadav, Obed McCoy, Murugan Ashwin, KC Cariappa, KM Asif

Rajasthan Royals Captain

SK Warne2008-2011 56312410
SR Watson2008-2015 2171121
R Dravid2012-201340231700
SPD Smith2014-2020 27151101
AM Rahane2018-2019 2491500
SV Samson2021-2023 24222300

Shane Warne

Shane Warne, the legendary cricketer, captained Rajasthan Royals during their inaugural season in 2008, leading them to victory. During his tenure, the team played 56 matches, winning 31, losing 24, and tying 1. His leadership was instrumental, and he continued as captain for four more seasons, leaving a lasting legacy before departing after the 2011 season.

Shane Watson

Shane Watson took over the captaincy from 2008 to 2015, steering the team through 21 matches, with 7 victories, 11 losses, 2 ties, and 1 match with no result. His tenure saw remarkable performances, notably winning the Player of the Tournament award in 2008 and 2013. Watson's leadership was tested when Rajasthan Royals were suspended in 2016, eventually moving to other franchises while leaving a mark of excellence.

Rahul Dravid

Under Rahul Dravid's captaincy, Rajasthan Royals reached the finals of the 2013 Champions League Twenty20. After leading the team, he transitioned into a mentor role, contributing his expertise to the development of the team.

Steve Smith

Steve Smith was appointed captain for the 2018 season, leading the team after his ban for the ball-tampering controversy. His tenure saw a mix of challenges and successes, with Ajinkya Rahane initially retaining the captaincy in the 2019 season before Smith assumed the role mid-season due to poor results.

Ajinkya Rahane

Ajinkya Rahane took over the captaincy reins after Steve Smith's departure and subsequent ban from the 2018 IPL season. His leadership provided stability during a transitional phase for the team.

Sanju Samson

Sanju Samson in IPL 2023 [x.com]Sanju Samson in IPL 2023 [x.com]

Sanju Samson assumed captaincy in the 2021 season, leading the team through 45 matches, with 24 wins and 23 losses. Under his leadership, Rajasthan Royals reached the finals of the 2022 Indian Premier League, showcasing Samson's potential as a captain and leader on the field.

Rajasthan Royals Coach 

Former Sri Lanka cricketer, Kumar Sangakkara currently serves as the head coach of the Rajasthan Royals (RR). Initially joining the RR management as the Director of Cricket Operations in 2021, Sangakkara assumed the additional role of head coach following Andrew McDonald's departure ahead of IPL 2021.

This marks Sangakkara's third consecutive season fulfilling the dual responsibilities within the team. Under his guidance, the Royals reached the final of IPL 2022, ultimately securing the runners-up position. This achievement marked their first appearance in an IPL final since their victorious campaign in 2008.

Rajasthan Royals Squad: FAQ's

Question: How many times did RR won IPL?

Answer: Rajasthan Royals clinched victory in the inaugural season of the IPL.

Question:  Who is the top scorer of Rajasthan Royals?

Answer: Sanju Samson holds the record for the highest number of runs scored for the team, accumulating 3403 runs. Meanwhile, Shane Watson stands as the leading wicket-taker with 67 wickets.

Question: Who is captain of RR in 2024?

Answer: Sanju Samson assumes the role of captain for the Rajasthan Royals in 2024.

Question: Who has taken most wickets for Rajasthan Royals?

Answer: Shane Watson holds the record for the most wickets taken for the Rajasthan Royals, having secured 67 wickets.