• Home
  • Player Stories
  • India Gears Up For Wtc Final As Skipper Rohit Sharma And Yashasvi Jaiswal Leaves

India Gears Up for WTC Final as Skipper Rohit Sharma and Yashasvi Jaiswal Leaves

image-li7rxpu3Yashasvi Jaiswal and Rohit Sharma (Source: Twitter)

India's preparation for the summit clash against Australia at the World Test Championship (WTC) have begun with players leaving in different batches for the UK. Now, the latest update that comes from the Indian camp is that captain Rohit Sharma and Indian Premier League (IPL) starman Yashasvi Jaiswal who recently replaced Ruturaj Gaikwad in the squad, have left the country.

The news comes after it was previously reported by this website that Rohit alongside other players is likely to travel on Sunday. Rohit's Mumbai Indians were eliminated from the IPL after losing to Gujarat Titans (GT) in Qualifier 2 in Ahmedabad.

As mentioned by News18 CricketNext, a source confirmed before Yashasvi posted on his profile regarding their departure.

“Rohit and Surya left together very early from Ahmedabad on May 27, around 4 am. They both will be reaching Mumbai. Ishan also left a few hours back, around 11 am. Not sure whether Ishan is directly going to Mumbai, from where they will catch the flight to England,”

It must be mentioned that Yashasvi is a part of the reserves with Suryakumar Yadav and will have to wait on the sidelines in case any player misses out due to injury.

“I think all of them will head to Mumbai only because most of their luggage is still at Trident, Mumbai Indians’ team hotel. Together they will be less than 24 hours at home before hitting the road again."

Previously, Virat Kohli with Mohammed Siraj and Ravichandran Ashwin united with other members of the squad who went as part of the first batch.

Moreover, the rest of the players will continue to depart until the 31st till everyone involved in the IPL reaches after the conclusion of the finals.

The WTC Final will take place at the Oval in London between India and Australia from 7th June.

India's Squad For WTC Final:

Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, KS Bharat (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Ishan Kishan (wk)

Standby players: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Mukesh Kumar, Suryakumar Yadav