Pakistan's Head Coach

Gary Kirsten is the new head coach for Pakistan's limited-overs teams, and Jason Gillespie is the Test coachGary Kirsten is the new head coach for Pakistan's limited-overs teams, and Jason Gillespie is the Test coach

Pakistan's cricket coaching history is marked by frequent changes, reflecting the team's ever-changing and often tumultuous cricketing landscape.

Since becoming a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICCC), Pakistan has seen an array of head coaches, each bringing their own style and philosophy to the role.

The high turnover rate of head coach changes since 1992 show the challenging and high-pressure environment of Pakistani cricket, where coaches have often been replaced mid-tournament or during series, and some have served multiple stints. Here’s a list of Pakistan head coaches over the years.

List of Pakistan's Cricket Head Coaches

Intikhab Alam1995Pakistan
Mushtaq Mohammad1996Pakistan
Haroon Rasheed1996-98Pakistan
Javed Miandad1998-99Pakistan
Mushtaq Mohammad1999Pakistan
Wasim Raja (Interim)1999Pakistan
Richard Pybus (Interim)1999England
Intikhab Alam1999-2000Pakistan
Javed Miandad2000-01Pakistan
Richard Pybus2001England
Mudassar Nazar2001-02Pakistan
Richard Pybus2002-03England
Javed Miandad2003-04Pakistan
Bob Woolmer2004-07England
Geoff Lawson2007-08Australia
Intikhab Alam2008-10Pakistan
Waqar Younis2010-11Pakistan
Mohsin Khan (Interim)2011-12Pakistan
Dav Whatmore2012-14Australia
Moin Khan (Interim)2014Pakistan
Waqar Younis2014-16Pakistan
Mickey Arthur2016-19South Africa
Saqlain Mushtaq2021-23Pakistan
Abdul Rehman (Interim)2023Pakistan
Grant Bradburn2023New Zealand
Mohammad Hafeez2023-24Pakistan
Azhar Mahmood (Interim)2024Pakistan
Jason Gillespie (Tests) & Gary Kirsten 2024-PresentAustralia/South Africa

Pakistan's T20 Coach: Gary Kirsten

Gary Kirsten will coach Pakistan in T20 World Cup 2024 (Twitter)Gary Kirsten will coach Pakistan in T20 World Cup 2024 (Twitter)

Gary Kirsten, a reputed name in global cricket coaching, has taken the helm of Pakistan's limited-overs teams ahead of the T20 World Cup 2024.

Kirsten brings a wealth of experience and a storied track record to the Pakistan cricket team. He famously guided the Indian team to their second ODI World Cup victory in 2011.  

Following his success with India, he served as the head coach of South Africa's national team, further solidifying his reputation for building strong, resilient teams capable of competing at the highest levels.

His methodical approach is expected to create a culture of performance and consistency within the Pakistan team.

As T20 cricket continues to evolve, Kirsten's ability to adapt and strategise will be crucial for Pakistan, especially in leading up to and during the T20 World Cup 2024.

Pakistan’s Head Coaches: FAQs

Q.1. Who is the current head coach of the Pakistan cricket team?

Answer: Pakistan have followed the split coaching formula and have seperate coaches for Tests and limited overs. While Gary Kirsten heads the white-ball team, Australia's Jason Gillespie is the new Test coach.

Q.2. Who is the new head coach of Pakistan 2024?

Answer: Former South African cricketer, Gary Kirsten is appointed the new white-ball coach, while former Aussie pacer, Jason Gillespie is the new red-ball coach.

Q.3. Who are the members of Pakistan National cricket team World Cup squad?

Answer: The Pakistan squad will be led by Babar Azam, and the other key members of the squad include Shaheen Afridi, Naseem Shah, and Mohammed Rizwan.

Q.4. How many World Cups does Pak win?

Answer: Pakistan have so far won two World Cups. They won the 1992 edition of the 50-over World Cup under Imran Khan, and clinched their maiden T20 WC title in 2009 under Younis Khan.

Q.5. Who is the vice-captain of Pakistan?

Answer: Pakistan have named Mohammed Rizwan as the vice-captain for the limited-overs team. The white-ball side is being led by Babar Azam.