Mumbai Indians Squad 2024

Mumbai Indians squad ahead of IPL 2024 [X]Mumbai Indians squad ahead of IPL 2024 [X]

Mumbai Indians is one of the most prominent and successful franchises in the Indian Premier League. Since its inception in 2008, MI has established itself as a powerhouse in the league, winning five titles (2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2020) and consistently performing well in various seasons.

The team has been known for its star-studded lineup, comprising both domestic and international cricketing talents.

The management, led by figures like Nita Ambani and coach Mark Boucher, has consistently made shrewd decisions in player acquisitions, ensuring a balanced squad with a mix of experienced players and talented youngsters.

The Wankhede Stadium, in Mumbai serves as MI's home ground, where they have delivered numerous memorable performances in front of their passionate fan base. 

Let's take a look at five-time champions Mumbai Indians Squad 2024. 

Mumbai Indians Squad List 2024

Hardik Pandya (C)
All-rounder INR 15 crore
Rohit SharmaBatterINR 16 crore
Dewald Brevis ✈️BatterINR 3 crore
Suryakumar YadavBatterINR 8 crore
Ishan KishanBatter & Wicket-keeperINR 15.25 crore
Tilak VarmaBatterINR 1.70 crore
Tim David ✈️BatterINR 8.25 crore
Vishnu VinodWicket-keeperINR 20 lakhs
Arjun TendulkarAll-rounderINR 30 lakhs
Shams MulaniBowlerINR 20 lakhs
Nehal WadheraBatterINR 20 lakhs
Jasprit BumrahBowlerINR 12 crore
Kumar KartikeyaBowlerINR 20 lakhs
Piyush ChawlaBowlerINR 50 lakhs
Akash MadhwalBowlerINR 20 lakhs
Luke Wood✈️BowlerINR 50 lakhs
Romario Shepherd ✈️All-rounderINR 50 lakhs
Gerald Coetzee ✈️BowlerINR 5 crore
Kwena Maphaka ✈️ BowlerINR 50 lakh
Shreyas GopalBowlerINR 20 lakhs
Naman DhirBowlerINR 20 lakhs
Anshul KambojBowlerINR 20 lakhs
Nuwan Thushara ✈️ BowlerINR 4.80 crore
Mohammad Nabi ✈️All-rounderINR 1.50 crore
Shivalik Sharma All-rounderINR 20 lakhs

(✈️ Overseas player)

Mumbai Indians Retained Players List 2024

Rohit SharmaINR 16 crore
Dewald BrevisINR 3 crore
Suryakumar YadavINR 8 crore
Ishan KishanINR 15.25 crore
Romario Shepherd INR 50 lakhs
Tilak VarmaINR 1.70 crore
Piyush ChawlaINR 50 lakhs
Akash MadhwalINR 20 lakhs
Luke Wood
INR 50 lakhs
Kumar KartikeyaINR 20 lakhs
Tim DavidINR 8.25 crore
Vishnu VinodINR 20 lakhs
Arjun TendulkarINR 30 lakhs
Shams MulaniINR 20 lakhs
Nehal WadheraINR 20 lakhs
Jasprit Bumrah INR 12 crore

Mumbai Indians Released Players List 2024

  • Jhye Richardson, Jofra Archer, Chris Jordan, Duan Jansen, Hrithik Shokeen, Mohd. Arshad Khan, Raghav Goyal Bowler, Ramandeep Singh, Riley Meredith, Sandeep Warrier, Tristan Stubbs.  

Mumbai Indians Captains

Mumbai Indians (MI) have been a dominant force in the IPL, and their success can be attributed to various factors, including strong leadership from their captains. 

Under the leadership of notable captains like Sachin Tendulkar, Rohit Sharma, and with the guidance of experienced coaches, Mumbai Indians have showcased remarkable consistency and resilience in the IPL.

Sachin Tendulkar
2008 – 2011
Harbhajan Singh
2008 – 2012
Shaun Pollock 2008
DJ Bravo
Ricky Ponting201363300
Kieron Pollard
Suryakumar Yadav
Rohit Sharma
Hardik Pandya

Hardik Pandya 

Hardik Pandya's appointment as the captain of Mumbai Indians for IPL 2024 signifies a shift for the franchise. His transition from Gujarat Titans to Mumbai Indians in an all-cash deal highlights the value Mumbai places on his leadership and cricketing abilities.

Hardik Pandya leading Gujarat Titans to victory in IPL 2022 and securing a runners-up position in IPL 2023 demonstrates his ability to lead a team effectively under pressure. 

Rohit Sharma 

Rohit Sharma five times IPL champion (iplt20)Rohit Sharma five times IPL champion (iplt20)

The most successful captain in Mumbai Indian's history, Rohit Sharma has been at the helm since mid-2013. During his captaincy from 2013 to 2023, Rohit Sharma led the Mumbai Indians to unprecedented heights in the IPL.

In his IPL captaincy for 163 matches, Mumbai Indians won 91 matches. His calm demeanour and strategic acumen helped the team clinch five IPL titles (2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2020), a feat unmatched by any other franchise in the tournament's history.

Ricky Ponting

Ricky Ponting, indeed, stands as one of the most iconic figures in cricket history celebrated not only for his exceptional batting prowess but also for his leadership abilities. 

His brief stint as the captain of the Mumbai Indians in 2013 left a lasting impression despite its brevity. Ponting's leadership style, honed over years of experience leading the Australian cricket team, brought a new dimension to the Mumbai Indians franchise. 

Dwayne Bravo

Dwayne Bravo, the renowned West Indian cricketer, is celebrated for his exceptional cricketing skills and his buoyant personality on the field. He is known for his prowess as an all-rounder, capable of making significant contributions with both bat and ball. 

Harbhajan Singh

The experienced off-spinner Harbhajan Singh took over the captaincy from Tendulkar. Under his leadership, MI clinched their first IPL title in 2013, showcasing his ability to lead the team to success.

Shaun Pollock

Shaun Pollock's stint as captain of the cricket team left a lasting impression despite its brevity. His leadership style, characterized by a strategic mindset and a composed demeanour, resonated well with the team. 

During his tenure, the team's performance reflected his influence, achieving a remarkable 75% win rate under his captaincy.

Sachin Tendulkar

The iconic Indian batsman and cricket legend, Sachin Tendulkar, captained Mumbai Indians in the initial seasons of the IPL. Although the team didn't secure a title under his leadership, Tendulkar played a crucial role in shaping the team and setting high standards.

Mumbai Indians Coach 

Mark Boucher, known for his contributions to South African cricket as a player and a coach, stepping into the head coach role at Mumbai Indians marks a significant shift. His experience as the head coach of the South Africa men's team and his stint in the IPL as a player can bring valuable insights and expertise to the Mumbai Indians franchise.

Boucher's tenure with the South African team and his familiarity with the dynamics in the IPL, could potentially bring fresh perspectives and tactics to Mumbai Indians. 

With the franchise being one of the most successful teams in IPL history, there would be considerable expectations from Boucher to maintain the team's winning legacy.

Mumbai Indians Squad: FAQs

Q.1 Who is 2024 MI captain?

Answer: In IPL 2024, the Mumbai Indians will be led by Hardik Pandya, who was recently appointed as the captain after being traded from the Gujarat Titans.

Q.2 Has Rohit Sharma left MI?

Answer: The veteran cricketer Rohit Sharma was replaced as MI captain by Hardik Pandya. Rohit will only be available as a batsman for the upcoming IPL season.

Q.3 Why did MI replace Rohit?

Answer: The Mumbai Indians coach Mark Boucher stated that they wanted Rohit to enjoy his batting and that's why the burden of captaincy was lifted from his shoulders. 

Q.4 How many times all teams has won the IPL? 

Answer: Mumbai have won the title five times led by Rohit Sharma while Chennai have also won the title five times under MS Dhoni's leadership. Kolkata Knight Riders are the third most successful franchise of the tournament having won the trophy twice in 2012 and 2014 under the leadership of Gautam Gambhir.