Chennai Super Kings Squad 2024

Chennai Super Kings Squad []Chennai Super Kings Squad []

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) is one of the most successful teams in the Indian Premier League's (IPL) history, known for its consistent performance, loyal fan base, and culture of excellence. Owned by India Cements, the team plays its home matches at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai, also known as Chepauk.

Under the leadership of MS Dhoni, CSK has won the IPL title five times (2010, 2011, 2018, 2021, and 2023). The team's success is often attributed to Dhoni's cool nature, strategic foresight, and ability to get the best out of his players. 

The team's colours are yellow and blue, and their jersey, predominantly yellow, has become iconic in the cricketing world. The fan base of CSK, affectionately known as the "Yellow Army" or "Whistle Podu Army," is among the most passionate and vocal in the IPL. 

The defending champions are gearing up for yet another season of the IPL. Ahead of the 2024 edition, here’s a look at the Chennai Super Kings squad list 2024.

Chennai Super Kings Squad List 2024

CSK bolstered their squad for the Indian Premier league 2024 season with significant acquisitions during the auction held in Dubai, spending ₹ 30.40 crore. The franchise secured the services of international talents like Daryl Mitchell, Rachin Ravindra, Mustafizur Rahman, and Shardul Thakur, alongside domestic prospects Avanish Rao Aravelly and Sameer Rizvi.

Overall, the Chennai Super Kings full team for IPL 2024 looks well-equipped to defend their title.

MS DhoniBatter & Wicket-keeper₹ 12 crore
Ruturaj Gaikwad (c)Batter₹ 6 crore
Ravindra JadejaAll-Rounder₹ 16 crore
Devon ConwayBatter₹ 6 crore
Moeen AliAll-Rounder₹ 8 crore
Shivam DubeAll-Rounder₹ 4 crore
Ajinkya RahaneBatter₹ 50 lakh
Deepak ChaharBowler₹ 14 crore
Maheesh TheekshanaBowler₹ 70 lakh
Mukesh ChoudharyBowler₹ 20 lakh
Mitchell SantnerAll-Rounder₹ 1.9 crore
Matheesha PathiranaBowler₹ 20 lakh
Tushar DeshpandeBowler₹ 20 lakh
Prashant SolankiBowler₹ 1.2 crore
Shaik RasheedBatter₹ 20 lakh
Rajvardhan HangargekarAll-Rounder₹ 1.5 crore
Simarjeet SinghBowler₹ 20 lakh
Nishant SindhuAll-Rounder₹ 60 lakh
Ajay MandalAll-Rounder₹ 20 lakh
Daryl MitchellAll-Rounder₹ 14 crore
Rachin RavindraAll-Rounder₹ 1.8 crore
Shardul ThakurAll-Rounder₹ 4 crore
Mustafizur RahmanBatter₹ 2 crore
Sameer RizviBatter₹ 8.4 crore
Aravelly AvanishBatter & Wicket-keeper₹ 20 lakh

Chennai Super Kings Retained Players List 2024

MS Dhoni₹ 12 crore
Ruturaj Gaikwad₹ 6 crore
Ravindra Jadeja₹ 16 crore
Devon Conway₹ 6 crore
Moeen Ali₹ 8 crore
Shivam Dube₹ 4 crore
Ajinkya Rahane₹ 50 lakh
Deepak Chahar₹ 14 crore
Maheesh Theekshana₹ 70 lakh
Mukesh Choudhary₹ 20 lakh
Mitchell Santner₹ 1.9 crore
Matheesha Pathirana₹ 20 lakh
Tushar Deshpande₹ 20 lakh
Prashant Solanki₹ 1.2 crore
Shaik Rasheed₹ 20 lakh
Rajvardhan Hangargekar₹ 1.5 crore
Simarjeet Singh₹ 20 lakh
Nishant Sindhu₹ 60 lakh
Ajay Mandal₹ 20 lakh

Chennai Super Kings Released Players List 2024

  • Ben Stokes, Dwaine Pretorius, Subhranshu Senapati, Ambati Rayudu, Bhagath Varma, Akash Singh, Sisanda Magala, Kyle Jamieson.

Chennai Super Kings Captains

Chennai Super Kings current captain MS Dhoni []Chennai Super Kings current captain MS Dhoni []

The leadership of the CSK in the IPL has seen just three individuals take the helm with MS Dhoni leading the side for the most part. Here’s the Chennai Super Kings captains list.

Tied/No Result
Winning Percentage
MS Dhoni
Suresh Raina2010-20196231/041.66
Ravindra Jadeja2022-20228260/025.00

MS Dhoni

MS Dhoni, who is been captaining CSK from its inception in 2008 is the main reason behind the team's spirit and success. Under his leadership, CSK played 235 matches, winning 142 of them, which translates to a whopping win percentage of 61.15%. 

Although he relinquished the captaincy during IPL 2022, he came back at the helm after Ravindra Jadeja stepped down. Dhoni's leadership saw CSK clinching the IPL title five times, solidifying his status as one of the league's most successful captains.

Suresh Raina

Suresh Raina, often referred to as "Mr. IPL" for his prolific run-scoring in the league, took on the captaincy role in Dhoni's absence for a total of 6 matches between 2010 and 2019. Under his captaincy, CSK won 2 games and lost 3, with one match ending in a tie, resulting in a win percentage of 41.66%. 

Raina's leadership was highlighted by his aggressive batting style and energetic fielding, although his brief stint as captain didn't allow for a larger impact comparable to Dhoni's tenure. Nonetheless, Raina's contributions to CSK as a player have been invaluable, making him a vital part of the team's core over the years.

Ravindra Jadeja

Ravindra Jadeja, known for his precision with the ball, electrifying fielding, and handy batting, was appointed captain for the 2022 season. His tenure was short-lived, covering just 8 matches with 2 wins and 6 losses, reflecting a win percentage of 25.00%. 

Despite his exceptional skills as a player, Jadeja's captaincy period was challenging, indicating the difficulties faced in transitioning into the leadership role amidst the high expectations set by his predecessors. His time as captain might not have mirrored the success seen under Dhoni, but Jadeja remains a key player for CSK, contributing significantly on the field.

Chennai Super Kings Coach

Former New Zealand captain, Stephen Fleming has been the head coach of the Chennai Super Kings since 2009, following a brief stint as a player for the team in the inaugural IPL season in 2008. Known for his strategic brilliance and cool temperament, Fleming has been instrumental in shaping the team's successes over the years. His partnership with captain MS Dhoni is often cited as one of the most successful coach-captain combinations in the history of the tournament.

Under his guidance, CSK has clinched the IPL title five times, showcasing a consistent performance across seasons. Fleming's coaching philosophy highlights team balance, the importance of key player roles, and the strategic use of resources, which has allowed CSK to thrive in various conditions and against different opponents.

Before his coaching career, Fleming had an illustrious international cricket career with New Zealand, known for his batting and leadership skills. His transition from an international player to a successful coach has been seamless, making him one of the most revered figures in the cricketing fraternity.

Chennai Super Kings Squad: FAQs

Q.1. Which players did CSK acquire in the IPL 2021 auction?

Answer: In the IPL 2024 auction, CSK acquired Daryl Mitchell, Rachin Ravindra, Mustafizur Rahman, Shardul Thakur, Avanish Rao Aravelly, and Sameer Rizvi.

Q.2. Who was the most expensive player bought by CSK in the IPL 2024 auction?

Answer: Daryl Moitclle was the most expensive acquisition for CSK in the IPL 2024 auction, picked for INR 14 crore.

Q.3. What is unique about CSK’s all-rounder lineup in the 2024 season?

Answer: CSK's all-rounder lineup is notable for its depth and versatility, featuring players like Shivam Dube, Moeen Ali, Ravindra Jadeja, Rachin Ravindra, and Shardul Thakur, each bringing a mix of batting and bowling capabilities.

Q.4. How many IPL titles has CSK won?

Answer: Chennai Super Kings has won the IPL title five times (2010, 2011, 2018, and 2021 & 2023).

Q.5. How many captains has CSK had over the years?

Answer: CSK has had three captains till date – MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, and Ravindra Jadeja.