Mumbai Indians Captains

image-lseh1yqfRohit Sharma led Mumbai Indians to five IPL titles (Twitter)

Mumbai Indians is one of the most celebrated franchises in the Indian Premier League (IPL), which has been synonymous with success, innovation, and an incredible spirit. 

A significant factor behind their success on the field has been the leadership provided by their captains. From the inaugural IPL season to the latest editions, all the captains of Mumbai Indians have been vital in crafting the team's destiny, leading with courage, brilliance, and commitment to excellence.

Mumbai Indians Captains List

Tied/ No Result
Win Percentage
Sachin Tendulkar2008-20115532230/058.18
Shaun Pollock2008-20084310/075.00
Harbhajan Singh2008-201230
Dwayne Bravo2010-20101010/00.00
Ricky Ponting2013-20136330/050.00
Rohit Sharma2013-202316391684/055.82
Kieron Pollard2014-20219540/055.55
Suryakumar Yadav2023-20231100/0100.00

Mumbai Indians All Captains

Sachin Tendulkar (2008-2011)

image-lsfolhs4Sachin Tendulkar (2008-2011)

Arguably cricket's most revered figure, Sachin Tendulkar captained the Mumbai Indians from 2008 to 2011. His tenure as captain was highlighted by strategic foresight and unparalleled batting brilliance. 

Tendulkar's leadership went beyond mere numbers; he was a mentor and a role model for the team, embodying sportsmanship and dedication. 

Under his captaincy, the team developed a winning mentality, with Tendulkar often leading from the front with his performances. His understanding of the game, ability to read match situations, and inspire his teammates elevated the Mumbai Indians' performance.

Shaun Pollock (2008-2008)

image-lsejq4amShaun Pollock (2008-2008)

Pollock, who took over the captaincy reins from Harbhajan briefly in 2008 after the infamous Slapgate incident, brought a wealth of international experience and a calm demeanour to the role. 

As one of cricket's greatest all-rounders, Pollock's leadership, though short-lived, was marked by a tactical approach to the game and an ability to inspire his team. His tenure might have been brief, but it was impactful, with the team winning 75% of the matches under his captaincy.

Harbhajan Singh (2008-2012)

image-lsvpt2f4Harbhajan Singh (2008-2012)

Harbhajan was a key figure in the early development of Mumbai Indians, serving as captain from 2008 to 2012. Known for his fiery off-spin and competitive spirit, Harbhajan led by example on the field. 

His tenure as captain was a period of growth and establishment for Mumbai Indians, as the team sought to carve out its identity in the IPL. Under his captaincy, the team saw a balanced record of wins and losses, but more importantly, he laid down the foundational ethos of fighting spirit that would become the hallmark of Mumbai Indians.

Dwayne Bravo (2010-2010)

image-lsejpcpnDwayne Bravo (2010-2010)

Known for his exuberant personality and all-round capabilities, Bravo captained the Mumbai Indians in a single match in 2010 in Tendulkar’s absence, making him the first West Indian player to lead an IPL side. Despite the team losing the game under his leadership, Bravo's contribution to the team in various capacities was invaluable.

Ricky Ponting (2013-2013)

image-lsejp280Ricky Ponting (2013-2013)

One of the most successful cricket captains of all time, Ricky Ponting brought his extensive leadership experience to the Mumbai Indians in 2013. 

Though his tenure as captain was brief, Ponting's impact was profound, instilling a professional work ethic and a winning mindset within the team. The Australian cricket legend led the team in 2013 for 6 matches. His leadership resulted in 3 wins and 3 losses, demonstrating a balanced approach with a 50.00% win rate.

Rohit Sharma (2013-2023)

image-lsejncykRohit Sharma (2013-2023)

Rohit, who was at the helm for a decade from 2013 to 2023, stands out as the most successful captain in the history of the Mumbai Indians. His calm and composed nature, strategic brilliance, and exceptional batting have been central to the team's success. 

Under Rohit's leadership, Mumbai Indians have clinched five IPL titles (2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, & 2020). His leadership style was highlighted by his cool approach under pressure, innovative tactics, and the knack for making decisive moves that have often changed the course of matches. Under Rohit’s captaincy for 163 matches, Mumbai Indians won 91 matches.

Kieron Pollard (2014-2021)

image-lsejucsaKieron Pollard (2014-2021)

Kieron Pollard, known for his explosive batting and versatile bowling, served as a captain in 9 matches between 2014 and 2021. Pollard's leadership was as dynamic as his playing style filled with aggression and the ability to make bold decisions. 

His tenure as captain may have been short, but it highlighted his capability to inspire his team with match-winning performances. Pollard's leadership resulted in 5 wins.

Suryakumar Yadav (2023-2023)

image-lsejtsbjSuryakumar Yadav (2023-2023)

Though having captained for just a single match in IPL 2023 against KKR, Suryakumar Yadav showed promise with a win, reflecting his potential as a leader. 

Known for his innovative batting and fielding skills, Yadav's brief captaincy stint showcased his tactical brilliance and ability to lead by example. As a player who has risen through the ranks, his leadership hinted at a bright future as a leader within the team.

Hardik Pandya (2024-Present)

image-lsejomczHardik Pandya (2024-Present)

Hardik Pandya’s appointment as the captain of Mumbai Indians (MI) for IPL 2024 marks a significant turning point for the storied franchise. Moving from Gujarat Titans in an all-cash deal, the dynamic all-rounder brings with him not just his skills on the field but also a proven leadership record. 

Having steered Gujarat Titans to victory in IPL 2022 and then to a runners-up position in IPL 2023, Pandya's captaincy skills are well-documented and highly regarded. Taking over the reins from Rohit, Hardik faces the significant task of filling in the shoes of one of IPL's most successful captains.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) About Mumbai Indians Captains

Q.1. Who has captained Mumbai Indians for the most number of matches and what is their win percentage?

Answer: Rohit Sharma has captained Mumbai Indians in the most number of matches, leading the team in 163 games from 2013 to 2023. Under his leadership, the team won 91 matches, resulting in a win percentage of approximately 57.05%.

Q.2. How many IPL titles has Rohit Sharma won as Mumbai Indians captain?

Answer: Rohit Sharma has won five IPL titles as Mumbai Indians captain. He won these titles in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 & 2020.

Q.3. What was Sachin Tendulkar's record as Mumbai Indians captain?

Answer: Sachin Tendulkar had a win rate of 58.18% during his tenure as captain from 2008 to 2011, winning 32 out of 55 matches which highlights his effectiveness in leading the team to victories during his captaincy.

Q.4. How many captains have Mumbai Indians had and who are they?

Answer: Mumbai Indians has had eight captains. The Mumbai Indians captains list includes Harbhajan Singh, Shaun Pollock, Sachin Tendulkar, Dwayne Bravo, Ricky Ponting, Rohit Sharma, Kieron Pollard, and Suryakumar Yadav. The baton has now passed to Hardik Pandya (9th captain), who carries forward the mantle with expectations of continuing MI's storied success into IPL 2024 and beyond.

Q.5. What challenges will Hardik Pandya face as the new captain of Mumbai Indians?

Answer: Hardik Pandya will face the challenge of living up to the high standards set by Rohit Sharma, under whose leadership MI won five IPL titles. He will need to combine his aggressive style with the team's established culture of success, while also managing the expectations of fans and owners.