Vishal Mehra ∙ Oct 13 2022, 11:33 AM | 2 Min Read

Mohammad Rizwan, Babar Azam guide Pakistan to a win over Bangladesh

image-l96nfefoBabar in action [Source: Twitter]

Match 6 of the T20I tri-nation series between Pakistan and Bangladesh saw the Men in Green prevail over their Asian counterparts by seven wickets. The pair of Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan once again led from the front chasing 174 runs.

Babar - Rizwan see Pakistan through

Strangely, Babar was the aggressor this time, dispatching anything that was even a faction out of line towards the boundary rope.

The opening duo scored 70-odd runs in 10 overs, only to pick up the pace in the coming overs.

The Pakistan captain reached his 29th T20I half-century in style via a boundary off Saifuddin. 

The 101-run partnership was broken when Azam handed a catch at deep cover for 55 perishing to Hasan Mahmud.

Meanwhile, Rizwan, too, reached a personal milestone, recording his 22nd fifty in the format.​

​Nawaz, in sync with Rizwan added 52 runs in 26 balls, bringing down Pakistan’s target to under 20.​

Unbothered, Nawaz played risk-free cricket in the final over, to hand his side a clinical seven-wicket victory over Bangladesh.

Das-Shakib run riot

Opting to bat, Bangladesh were off to a poor start, losing opener Sarkar in the third over. Litton Das, coming in at number three managed to snitch a small stand with Najmul Hossain Shanto, but the latter fell for 12.

​Skipper Shakib Al Hasan joined forces with Das, and the pair displayed breathtaking cricket in the middle.

​Das registered his seventh T20I fifty in 31 deliveries. They added 88 runs for the third wicket before Das departed for a well-made 69, trying to sweep Mohammad Nawaz.

​Shakib continued his onslaught, reaching his 12th T20 half-century in 34 balls. He fell to Naseem Shah after making 68, as Bangladesh’s total neared the 170-run mark.

​An excellent final over from Mohammad Wasim Jr. restricted the Bangla Tigers to 173 for 6, with Nurul Hasan and Mohammad Saifuddin unbeaten on 2 and 1, respectively.

​Brief Scores

Bangladesh: 173 -6 (20)

Litton Das 69 (42), Shakib Al Hasan 68 (42);
Naseem Shah 2 - 27, Mohammad Wasim Jr 2 - 33;

Pakistan: 177-3 (19.5)

Mohammad Rizwan 69 (56) , Babar Azam 55 (40);
Hasan Mahmud 2 -27, Soumya Sarkar 1 -6

Pakistan won by seven wickets


Also Read: David Warner's Australia captaincy ban could be lifted on Friday