• Home
  • Match Hub
  • Dottin Anisa Power Trinbago Knight Riders To Title Victory

WCPL 2022: Dottin, Anisa power Trinbago Knight Riders to title victory

image-l7ofm7xrTrinbago Knight Riders (PC: Twitter)

Riding on the brilliance of Deandra Dottin and Anisa Mohammed, Trinbago Knight Riders (TKR) emerged as champions of the Women's Caribbean Premier League (WCPL) 2022. 

Under the leadership of Hayley Matthews, Barbados Royals emerged as the runner-up.  

Deandra Dottin propels TKR to a competitive total

image-l7ofpv86Deandra Dottin (PC: Twitter)

Invited to bat first, Knight Riders were off to a slow start with the wickets of Lee Ann-Kirby (3) and Sune Luus (12). However, the experienced Deandra Dottin displayed her composure to successfully negate the opposition bowling attack. 

As the wickets were falling like a pack of cards at the other end, skipper Dottin accelerated at the right point in time to provide a flourish to TKR in the final half of their innings. 

In the penultimate over, Matthews produced brilliance to take three wickets in a single over, which included Dottin (59 off 62) as well.  As a result, Knight Riders were restricted to 100/7 in their designated quota of 20 overs. 

Proficient bowlers help TKR prevail in crunch moments

In response to the chase, Aaliyah Alleyne (7) and Britney Cooper (0) could not prove to much support at the top-order. The dismissal of talented Protea Chloe Tryon (7) opened the floodgates for Knight Riders. 

However, Matthews tried her best to steer the team, amid the dismissals of her team-mates. With 13 needed from 12 balls, Royals fancied their chances to seal the game with the presence of their skipper and two wickets in hand. 

However, the skilful Anisa Mohammed made Matthews (46) hole out to Jannillea Glasgow in the deep mid-wicket on the second ball. 

Two deliveries later, offie cleaned up Mandy Mangru to help the team win by 10 runs and lift the title of inaugural season of WCPL. 

Brief Scores: 

Trinbago Knight Riders- 100/7 (20)

Deandra Dottin 59 (62), Sune Luus  12 (16);
Hayley Matthews 3/22

Barbados Royals- 90/10 (18.4)

Hayley Matthews 46 (49), Chinelle Henry 7 (10);
Anisa Mohammed 3/16

Result: Knight Riders won by 10 runs and lifted the WCPL 2022 title

Read more: CPL 2022: Kyle Mayers stars with the ball as Royals edge out Kings