Best Bowling Average In IPL

Lasith Malinga has the best bowling average in IPL history []Lasith Malinga has the best bowling average in IPL history []

Since its inception in 2008, the Indian Premier League (IPL) has been a stage where bat and ball collide in electrifying encounters. While the league is often associated with colossal sixes and mammoth scores, the importance of bowlers cannot be overstated. 

In the words of many cricket pundits, "Batsmen win you matches, but bowlers win you tournaments." This sentiment holds true across all IPL seasons, as bowlers play a pivotal role in shaping the destiny of their teams.

One of the key metrics used to evaluate bowlers' effectiveness in T20 cricket is their bowling average. A low bowling average indicates that a bowler not only takes wickets but also limits the number of runs scored off their deliveries, thereby tightening the screws on the opposition.

As we gear up for the IPL 2024 season, set to commence on March 22nd, let's take a closer look at the bowlers with the best bowling averages in IPL history, as well as those expected to shine in the upcoming IPL season.

IPL History - Best Bowling Average  (Min. 40 wickets)

1Lasith Malinga122337417019.85 16.63
2Imran Tahir
3Rashid Khan*1173103 14721.1118.89
Kagiso Rabada77247111621.3015.16
5Yuzi Chahal153
21.61 16.77
6Nathan Coulter-Nile391100 4822.9217.85
7Munaf Patel6316987422.95 18.31
8Srinath Aravind3810394523.09 16.89
9Ryan Harris3710474523.2718.49
10Andrew Tye309794223.3116.29

Best Bowling Average In IPL: FAQ's

Q. Which team does Rashid Khan currently play for in the IPL?

A. Rajasthan Royals' spinner, Yuzvendra Chahal, became the first bowler in IPL history to record 200 wickets. He achieved the milestone in IPL 2024 fixture against Mumbai Indians after snapping Mohammad Nabi.

Q. Who is the best bowler in IPL history?

A. Lasith Malinga with 170 wickets in IPL history is regarded as the finest bowler to bowl in the league. Thanks to the Sri Lankan's brilliance, Mumbai Indians won four titles - in 2013, 2015, 2017 & 2019. 

Q. Who has taken maximum wickets in IPL?

A. Yuzvendra Chahal has taken the most wickets in the IPL. In the 17th edition of the league, the leg-spinner took his 200th wicket against Mumbai Indians on April 22, 2024 at Jaipur. 

Q. Who took most wickets in IPL in one season?

A. DJ Bravo for CSK in 2013 and Harshal Patel for RCB in 2021 have taken 32 wickets in a season, which is the most by any bowler in IPL's history. Harshal archieved the feat off just 15 matches, whereas, the CSK legend took 18 matches to do so.