ICC Women's T20 World Cup 2023, Match 5: Sri Lanka Women vs Bangladesh Women | Fantasy Tips and Teams

image-le0hlxxlSource: Twitter

A doubleheader Sunday in the ICC Women's T20 World Cup will see Bangladesh Women rubbing shoulders with Sri Lanka Women at the Newlands Cricket Stadium, Cape Town. The match is slated to begin at 10:30 PM IST and will be live on Star Sports Network and Disney Plus Hotstar. 

It will be the first game of the Bangladesh Women in the mega event. After a horrendous Asia Cup outing, the Tigresses battled out the White Ferns in three T20Is and as many ODIs. They failed to win a single game in both the formats - was clean-sweeped 3-0 in 20-over format and lost 1-0 in the 50-over format.

The Asian side even failed to earn a single win during the warm-up games before the tournament kicked-off.  They were on the receiving end of a thrashing by Pakistan Women and India Women.

For more fantasy tips and predictions by OneCricket, click here.

On the flip side, Sri Lanka Women will be playing their second match of the tournament against Bangladesh. They started the season with a storm after creating an upset against the hosts, South Africa Women. Earlier, they played the finals of Asia Cup against India Women and lost it. They played two warm-up matches before the start of the event and won and lost one.

Ground Stats: Newlands Cricket Stadium, Cape Town

The surface at the Newlands Cricket Stadium offers initial lateral movement to the pacers. The spinners get modest assistance and the batters fail to judge the true bounce of the surface. This ground has already seen a low-scoring encounter and bowlers with good slower variations is a good mechanism to go ahead with.

Numbers at the ground (This tournament)

Matches won batting first: 1
Matches won batting second: 0

Average score batting first: 129
Average score batting second: 126

Average runs per over: 128
Average runs per wicket: 19.61

BD-W vs SL-W, Match 5: Head-to-Head

Both teams have faced each other seven times in the 20-over format. It is Sri Lanka who edges past with five wins and Bangladesh Women have got only two lost.

Total Matches: 7

Matches won by Sri Lanka Women: 5
Matches won by Bangladesh Women: 2

BD-W vs SL-W, Match 5: Playing XI

Bangladesh Women Team Updates

No updates

Bangladesh Women Probable Playing XI

Murshida Khatun, Sharmin Akhter, Fargana Hoque, Nigar Sultana (c/wk), Rumana Ahmed, Ritu Moni, Salma Khatun, Rabeya Khan, Nahida Akter

Sri Lanka Women Team Updates

No major updates

Sri Lanka Women Probable Playing XI

Harshita Madavi, Chamika Athapaththu (c), Vishwa Gunaratne, Anushka Sanjeewani (wk), Nilakshi de Silva, Ama Kanchana, Kavisha Dilhari, Oshada Ranasinghe, Sugandika Kumari, Inoka Ranaweera, Achini Kulasuriya

BAN-W vs SL-W, Match 5: Top Picks

  1. Chamika Athapaththu (SL-W): The Lankan skipper is one of the beast players and will look to give a rollicking start as she offered against South Africa Women in their previous game.
  2. Fargana Hoque (BD-W): The Bangladesh middle order batter will look to stabilize the batting order and play according to situation. She is one of the best batters of the unit.
  3. Vishwa Gunaratne (SL-W): The promising youngster continued the U-10 heroics into the senior side. She shepherded the innings in the last game against South Africa and stabilized the run-flow.
  4. Salma Khatun (BD-W): The veteran spinner of Bangladesh can get good assist from the surface here. She is quite good in slower turfs.
  5. Inoka Ranaweera (SL-W): The finger spinner has been brilliant during the 2022 calendar year. She has been very impressive and also bagged two crucial wickets in their last game.

BD-W vs SL-W, Match 5: Must Picks

Sri Lanka Women

  1. Chamika Athapaththu
  2. Vishwa Gunaratne 
  3. Inoka Ranaweera

Bangladesh Women

  1. Salma Khatun
  2. Nahida Akter
  3. Fargana Hoque

BD-W vs SL-W, Match 5: Risky Picks

Sri Lanka Women: Nilakshi de Silva, Oshada Ranasinghe

Bangladesh Women: Nigar Sulatana, Ritu Moni

BD-W vs SL-W, Match 5: Best Captain and Vice-captain choices

  • Chamari Athapaththu
  • Inoka Ranaweera
  • Nigar Sultana

BD-W vs SL-W, Match 5: Team for Head to Head contests

Create and Participate with the team in the Cricket Exchange Fantasy App

image-le0wceb6(Powered by Cricket Exchange)

Wicketkeepers: Nigar Sultana
Batters: Harshita Madavi, Nilakshi de Silva, Vishmi Gunaratne
All-rounders: Chamari Athapththu, Oshadi Ranasinghe, Ritu Moni, Salma Khatun
Bowlers: Inoka Ranaweera, Sugandika Kumari, Jahanara Alam

Captain: Chamari Athapththu
Vice-captain:Inoka Ranaweera

SL: 7 Players;  BAN:4 Players

BD-W vs SL-W, Match 5: Team for Winner Takes All

Create and Participate with the team in the Cricket Exchange Fantasy App

image-le0wkigj(Powered by Cricket Exchange)

Wicketkeepers: Nigar Sultana, Anushka Sanjeewani
Batters: Harshita Madavi, Nilakshi de Silva, Vishmi Gunaratne
All-rounders: Chamari Athapththu, Oshada Ranasinghe, Salma Khatun
Bowlers: Inoka Ranaweera, Jahanara Alam, Fahima Khatun

Captain: Vishmi Gunaratne
Vice-captain: Oshadi Ranasinghe

SL: 7 Players;  BAN: 4 Players