Vaibhav Tripathi ∙ Updated: Sep 6 2023, 10:11 PM | 2 Min Read

Zak Crawley To Lead as England Announce Formidable Squad For Ireland ODIs

image-lm7xcw4sBen Duckett will act as the vice-captain of the team versus Ireland. (

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has unveiled its 13-member squad for the forthcoming three-match ODI series against Ireland, set to commence on September 20 at Headingley, Leeds. In the absence of regular white-ball skipper Jos Buttler, Zak Crawley will lead the team.

This series sees the inclusion of some fresh faces, with Warwickshire batter Sam Hain, Surrey wicketkeeper-batter Jamie Smith, and Derbyshire seamer George Scrimshaw all earning their maiden call-ups.

It's noteworthy that none of the 15 players initially named in England's provisional World Cup squad will participate against Ireland. This decision aligns with the series ending on September 26, nine days before England's World Cup opener against New Zealand on October 5.

The selectors seem eager to provide Crawley with opportunities in white-ball cricket, especially after his impressive showing in the Ashes. 

He concluded the Ashes as England's leading run-scorer, amassing 480 runs across nine innings with an outstanding average of 53.33. His performance included one century and two fifties during the tournament. 

In addition to leading the team for the first time, Crawley will also add to his three ODI caps. Ben Duckett, who opens with Crawley in Test cricket, will serve as the vice-captain.

Other players in the squad include Will Jacks, Phil Salt, Luke Wood, Craig Overton, and Matthew Potts, providing a mix of experience and new talent. It's important to mention that the England Men's selection committee considered the aspirations of first-class counties as they finalized the squad, taking into account the County Championship season's conclusion.

The action begins on September 20 at Headingley, Leeds, where the first ODI will take place. Then, on September 23, the second ODI moves to Nottingham. Finally, the series culminates with the third and last ODI, slated for September 26 at the County Ground in Bristol.

England squad for Ireland ODIs

Zak Crawley (c), Ben Duckett (vc), Rehan Ahmed, Harry Brook, Brydon Carse, Sam Hain, Will Jacks, Craig Overton, Matthew Potts, Phil Salt, George Scrimshaw, Jamie Smith, Luke Wood