Arnav Chopra ∙ Updated: May 11 2023, 8:57 PM | 2 Min Read

Yuzvendra Chahal Becomes Highest Wicket Taker in IPL History

image-lhj9429eYuzvendra Chahal (Source: BCCI/IPL)

One of the premier leg-spinners in the Indian Premier League (IPL), Yuzvendra Chahal has been a consistent performer in white-ball cricket. Now, during the game between Rajasthan Royals (RR) and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), Chahal claimed the wicket of Nitish Rana and moved to the top of the charts to become the highest-wicket taker in IPL history surpassing Chennai Super Kings legend Dwayne Bravo.

Chahal has now bagged 184 wickets in 143 games whereas Bravo managed 183 scalps in 161 matches during his career.

The 32-year-old has featured for Mumbai Indians (MI), Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and is now a regular for Rajasthan Royals in the sixteenth edition of the league.

Making his debut in 2013 for RCB against the same opposition at the very same venue, Eden Gardens, Chahal holds an economy of 7.67 in his decade long career.

Highest Wicket-Takers in the IPL:

  1. Yuzvendra Chahal: 184 wickets in 143 matches
  2. Dwayne Bravo: 183 wickets in 161 matches
  3. Piyush Chawla: 174 wickets in 176 matches
  4. Amit Mishra: 172 wickets in 160 matches
  5. R Ashwin: 171 wickets in 196 matches

Along with Chahal, IPL veteran Piyush Chawla holds the third spot with 174 whereas Amit Mishra and R Ashwin occupy the fourth and fifth position, respectively with 172 and 171 wickets to their name.

By the time of writing, Yuzi Chahal had bowled two overs for 18 with one scalp as the score was 127 runs for four down after 16 overs.