World Cup Qualifiers 2023 | ICC Announces Team Of The Tournament

image-ljxrsyvwSri Lanka clinched the title by beating Netherlands in the final [Twitter]

The recently concluded ICC World Cup Qualifiers 2023 proved to be an enthralling event, with immense skill and temperament on show from the participating nations.

In the end, former champions Sri Lanka and the hugely impressive Netherlands pipped the likes of Scotland, hosts Zimbabwe, and two-time champions West Indies to earn the ticket to India for the 2023 50-over World Cup.

Sri Lanka and the Dutch contested for the trophy, where the island nation came out trumps thanks to their amazing bowling attack.

Following the event's culmination, the ICC released the best XI of the tournament.

Openers: Pathum Nissanka and Vikramjit Singh

Promising Lankan opener Pathum Nissanka and Netherlands' Vikramjit Singh have been picked as openers following their strong show throughout the tournament.

While Nissanka scored 417 runs, Singh chipped in with 326 runs and six wickets in the tournament. 

Number Three: Brandon McMullen

image-ljxetdzaBrandon Mcmullen [Image- ICC]

Scotland's breakout star Brendon McMullen slots in at number three following his blockbuster all-round display. The 23-year-old hammered 364 runs at an average of 52 besides claiming 13 wickets @ 17.53 via his right-arm pace.

Middle Order: Sean Williams, Bas de Leede, Sikandar Raza, Scott Edwards

image-ljxeugr8Sean Williams [Image- ICC]

Champion Zimbabwe player Sean Williams was the breakout batsman of the tournament, pummeling 600 runs at an average of 100 with as many as 5 50+ scores, including three centuries. He slots in at number four. 

The star of Netherlands' World Cup berth clinching victory over Scotland, all-rounder Bas de Leede slots in at number 5. The veteran cricketer smashed an unbeaten whirlwind ton to help the Dutch overhaul the target of 278 under 44 overs. He also claimed 5 wickets earlier in the game. Overall, he scored 285 runs in 7 games and claimed 15 crucial wickets.

image-ljxevcv8Bas de Leede [Image- Twitter]

Veteran Zimbabwe all-rounder Sikandar Raza was once again one of the lynchpin of his teams' campaign. He smashed the fastest century by a Zimbabwean during the campaign and ended up scoring 325 runs at an average of 65. He also took nine wickets with his off-spin.

Following Raza, at seven is Netherlands skipper and keeper-batsman, Scott Edwards, who regularly chipped in with crucial lower middle-order runs besides being extremely proficient behind the stumps.

Edwards scored 314 runs with the help of 4 half-centuries and also affected 12 dismissals behind the stumps. He will also lead the team of the tournament.

image-ljxeyajuHasaranga and Theekshana led Lanka's bowling attack [Image- Twitter]

As far as the bowling attack is concerned, the spin-department is led by Wanindu Hasaranga (22 wickets in 7 matches) and Maheesh Theekshana (21 wickets in 8 matches).

The pace department consists of Scotland's Chris Sole (11 wickets in 7 matches) and Zimbabwe's left-arm pacer Richard Ngarava, who accounted for 14 scalps in 7 outings.

ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifiers 2023 Best XI

Pathum Nissanka, Vikramjit Singh, Brandon McMullen, Sean Williams, Bas de Leede, Sikandar Raza, Scott Edwards (WK), Wanindu Hasaranga, Maheesh Theekshana, Chris Sole, Richard Ngarava