• Home
  • Breaking News
  • Veteran Batter Returns As Pakistan Announce Squad For New Zealand Odis

Haris Sohail returns as Pakistan announce squad for New Zealand ODIs

image-lciz032mBabar Azam [Source: Twitter]

In a significant turn of events, Pakistan have announced a 16-member squad for the upcoming ODI series against New Zealand. Babar Azam will lead the side, which is a mix of experience and youth. 

Veteran batter Haris Sohail has received a recall. Notably, Sohail played his last ODI against Zimbabwe in Harare back in 2020. Opening batter Fakhar Zaman and ace pacer Haris Rauf have also been included after recovering from their respective injuries. 

Stylish right-handed batter Tayyab Tahir has been rewarded for his incredible consistency in domestic cricket. Overall, the cricketer has 2110 runs to his name in 49 List-A appearances. 

Leg spinner Usama Mir is another fascinating name the selectors have shown trust in. In 42 List-A outings, Mir has scalped 72 wickets at a magnificent strike rate of 26.6. 

However, contrary to expectations, Abrar Ahmed and Sharjeel Khan haven't been picked in the team. Meanwhile, Shadab Khan will miss the series due to a finger injury. 

Pakistan squad for New Zealand ODIs

Babar Azam (C), Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Haris Sohail, Imam-ul-Haq, Kamran Ghulam, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan (WK), Mohammad Wasim Jr, Naseem Shah, Salman Ali Agha, Shahnawaz Dahani, Shan Masood, Tayyab Tahir, Usama Mir

Also Read: English sensation among the three player of the month nominees for December 2022