Debashis Sarangi ∙ Aug 23 2022, 11:31 AM | 3 Min Read

The 6ixty: All you need to know

image-l75rpnglAndre Russell will be in action [PC: Twitter]

Franchise cricket, which has attracted millions of spectators to the stands, has further expanded its horizon, adding an exciting member, the 6ixty. 

The 6ixty is basically a tournament consisting of sixty-ball games scheduled in the Caribbean Islands. The first season of this latest format will see twelve games being played from August 25 to 28.  


  • Each batting team has only six wickets.
  • Each batting team has two PowerPlay overs. They can unlock a third PowerPlay by hitting two sixes in the first 12 balls. This extra PowerPlay over can be taken at any time between overs 3-9. 
  • There will be 30 balls bowled from one end before the action switches to the other end for the final 30 balls. 
  • The 30 balls will be delivered as 5 separate overs, with no bowler being able to bowl more than two overs for the innings. 
  • If teams do not bowl their overs within the allotted time, a member of their team is removed from the field for the final six balls.


image-l75rm7bkChris Gayle will be in action [PC: Twitter]

There are six teams participating in the tournament, as mentioned below. 

Jamaica Tallawahs: Rovman Powell, Sandeep Lamichhane, Fabian Allen, Imad Wasim, Brandon King, Kennar Lewis, Mohammad Amir, Shamarh Brooks, Migael Pretorius, Chris Green, Raymon Reifer, Jamie Merchant, Amir Jangoo, Shamar Springer, Nicholson Gordon, Kirk Mckenzie, Joshua James

St. Lucia Kings: Roston Chase, Johnson Charles, Kesrick Williams, McKenney Clarke, Alzarri Joseph, Scott Kuggeleijn, Mark Deyal, Jeavor Royal, Matthew Forde, Leroy Lugg, Preston McSween, Larry Edwards, Ackeem Auguste, Rivaldo Clarke, Roshon Primus, Ravendra Persaud, Jesse Bootan

Trinbago Knight Riders: Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Nicholas Pooran, Akeal Hosein, Ravi Rampaul, Tim Seifert, Seekkuge Prasanna, Jayden Seales, Tion Webster, Khary Pierre, Anderson Phillip, Terrence Hinds, Leonardo Julien, Shaaron Lewis

St. Kitts & Nevis Patriots: Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Andre Fletcher, Qasim Akram, Sherfane Rutherford, Dwaine Pretorius, Darren Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Dominic Drakes, Dewald Brevis, Izharulhaq Naveed, Joshua da Silva, Jon-Riss Jaggesar, Keacy Carty, Kelvin Pittman, Jaden Carmichael

Barbados Royals: Jason Holder, Ober McCoy, Kyle Mayers, Azam Khan, Hayden Walsh Jr., Oshane Thomas, Rahkeem Cornwall, Harry Tector, Devon Thomas, Joshua Bishop, Justin Greaves, Corbin Bosch, Nyeem Young, Teddy Bishop, Ramon Simmonds

Guyana Amazon Warriors: Shimron Hetmyer, Odean Smith, Romario Shepherd, Colin Ingram, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Shai Hope, Paul Stirling, Heinrich Klaasen, Keemo Paul, Jermaine Blackwood, Gudakesh Motie, Veerasammy Permaul, John Campbell, Shermon Lewis, Ronsford Beaton, Matthew Nandu, Junior Sinclair


August 25: 

Guyana Amazon Warriors v St Lucia Kings, 10 AM
St Kitts and Nevis Patriots v Jamaica Tallawahs, 12.30 PM
Barbados Royals v Trinbago Knight Riders, 5.30 PM

August 26: 

St Kitts and Nevis Patriots v St Lucia Kings, 10 AM
Guyana Amazon Warriors v Trinbago Knight Riders, 12.30 PM
Barbados Royals v Jamaica Tallawahs, 5.30 PM

August 27: 

Jamaica Tallawahs v St Lucia Kings, 10 AM
Barbados Royals v Guyana Amazon Warriors, 12.30 PM
St Kitts and Nevis Patriots v Trinbago Knight Riders, 5.30 PM

August 28: 

1st semi-final, 10 AM
2nd semi-final, 12.30 PM
Final, 5.30 PM

Also Read: Shubman Gill leapfrogs Sachin Tendulkar after a hundred against Zimbabwe