• Home
  • Breaking News
  • Sophie Ecclestone Returns As England Women Name Three Squads For India Tour

Sophie Ecclestone Returns as England Women Name Three Squads For India Tour

image-losnvcsnSophie Ecclestone | Source: X.com

England have announced three squads, including England A Women, for their upcoming tour to India. The tour comprises a three-match T20I series against India A, a three-match T20I series against senior India women, and a one-off Test.

In the major development, spinner Sophie Ecclestone has made a comeback to both squads following shoulder surgery in September. She is set to undergo further rehabilitation, gearing up for the upcoming series in India.

On another front, wicketkeeper-batter Bess Heath secures her place in both squads following her senior debut in England’s One Day International against Sri Lanka in September. Additionally, all-rounder Alice Capsey is also set to earn her maiden Test cap.

Here’s what head coach Jon Lewis said on the selection: 

“We have a nice blend of youth and experience. It’s an exciting squad and a group that is ready to take on the challenge of what will be a really tough series in India.”

In a return to India for the first time since 2019, the England women's team, coached by John Lewis, anticipates valuable experience from this tour. Lewis is confident that this tour will be instrumental in preparing the team for the upcoming World Cup in the subcontinent.

“We haven’t toured India for a number of years. We have players who have experienced playing in the Women’s Premier League but many haven’t played international cricket there before. Playing in Indian conditions is great preparation for our next two World Cups in the subcontinent and will be an amazing learning opportunity for both the players and the staff.”

The entire T20I series between India and England is scheduled to take place at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai, with the Test match set to take place at DY Patil Stadium, Mumbai.

England Women Squad for Three-Match T20I Series:

Lauren Bell, Maia Bouchier, Alice Capsey, Charlie Dean, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Mahika Gaur, Danielle Gibson, Sarah Glenn, Bess Heath, Amy Jones, Freya Kemp, Heather Knight (C), Nat Sciver-Brunt, Danielle Wyatt 

England Women Squad for One-Off Test:  

Tammy Beaumont, Lauren Bell, Alice Capsey, Kate Cross, Charlie Dean, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Lauren Filer, Bess Heath, Amy Jones, Heather Knight (C), Emma Lamb, Nat Sciver-Brunt, Danielle Wyatt 

Meanwhile, England Women A have announced a 21-member squad to prepare in Oman (12-25 November) ahead of their three-match T20I series against India A. Mahika Gaur and Lauren Filer, who enjoyed breakthrough summers, have been picked up in the A side for their training sessions. 

Here, it’s worth mentioning that 14 players out of the 21 will be chosen to face the India A team, leaving the remaining players to undergo training with the England women. 

England Women A Squad: 

Hollie Armitage, Hannah Baker, Alice Davidson-Richards, Georgia Davis, Charlie Dean, Tash Farrant, Lauren Filer, Mahika Gaur, Kirstie Gordon, Liberty Heap, Freya Kemp, Emma Lamb, Ryana MacDonald-Gay, Kalea Moore, Sophie Munro, Grace Potts, Grace Scrivens, Seren Smale, Rhianna Southby, Mady Villiers, Issy Wong