• Home
  • Cricket News
  • Seven Franchise Owners Named For The Next Three Editions Of The Bpl

Seven franchise owners named for the next three editions of the BPL

image-l8hc7y4uComilla Victorians won the last edition of the tournament

The ninth edition of the tournament will be held in the early part of 2023.

The Bangladesh Premier League's eighth edition was held from January to February earlier this year. The tournament, which was a six team affair up until the most recent edition of the tournament, will be a seven team affair from the next one. Seven teams are slated to play in the next three editions and the window for that has also been reserved by the ICC.

The Comilla Victorians, led by Imrul Kayes won the title for the third time in the last edition of the tournament after they defeated the Fortune Barishal in the final. 

A press release from the Bangladesh Cricket Board stated that the league's governing council invited seven parties to complete the process of securing the rights of the ownership of the new franchises. The initiative, taken for the next three editions of the tournament was taken after detailed evaluation and assessment of the expression of interest documents by probable owners. 

The list of the sides for the next season

The seven sides and their owners are as follows-

Fortune Barishal Sports Ltd. -Barishal

Mindtree Limited -Khulna

Progoti Green Auto Rice Mills Ltd. - Dhaka

Future Sports Bangladesh Limited -Sylhet

Toggi Sports Limited (Bashundhara Group) -Rangpur

Delta Sports Ltd.- Chattogram

Comilla Legends Limited- Cumilla

Also read: R Sridhar projects Rishabh Pant as the future captain of the Indian team