• Home
  • Breaking News
  • Rovman Powell To Lead Russell Hetmyer Included As West Indies Announce Squad For T20 Wc 2024

Rovman Powell To Lead; Russell, Hetmyer Included As West Indies Announce Squad for T20 WC 2024

West Indies will aim to win their third T20 World Cup title at home (Twitter)West Indies will aim to win their third T20 World Cup title at home (Twitter)

Cricket West Indies (CWI) has announced its 15-player squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024, signalling their readiness to compete on home soil and in the USA.

Led by captain Rovman Powell, the team has both experienced all-rounders and exciting young talent, who will aim to reclaim the title in this prestigious tournament.

The West Indies squad for T20 WC features seasoned players like Jason Holder, Andre Russell, and Romario Shepherd, each known for their explosive batting and versatile bowling.

Wicketkeeper-batter Nicholas Pooran, opener Shai Hope and Shimron Hetmyer are also expected to play massive roles, bringing stability and flair to the batting lineup.

Young talents such as Shamar Joseph, Alzarri Joseph and Gudakesh Motie add fresh energy and potent bowling options to the team.

West Indies, placed in Group C, will face stiff competition from Afghanistan, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, and Uganda. However, the two-time champions are seen as strong contenders, especially with the advantage of familiar conditions and local support.

Their campaign will commence on June 2 against Papua New Guinea at Providence Stadium in Guyana. This match will not only set the tone for their tournament run but also provide a platform for emerging players to showcase their skills on the international stage.

West Indies Squad for T20 World Cup 2024

Rovman Powell (c), Alzarri Joseph, Johnson Charles, Roston Chase, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Akeal Hossain, Shamar Joseph, Brandon King, Gudakesh Motie, Nicholas Pooran, Andre Russell, Sherfane Rutherford, Romario Shepherd