• Home
  • Breaking News
  • Rashid Khan To Lead As Afghanistan Announce A Formidable Squad For Pakistan T20is

Rashid Khan To Lead as Afghanistan Announce a Formidable Squad For Pakistan T20Is

image-lfi3codwRashid Khan will lead the side [Source: Twitter]

In a significant development, Afghanistan Cricket Board has named a robust 17-member squad for the upcoming three-match T20I series against Pakistan. Rashid Khan will lead the side, which is a mix of experience and youth. 

The dynamic duo of Ibrahim Zadran and Rahmanullah Gurbaz will open, while the middle order batting will be shouldered by Usman Ghani, Najibullah Zadran, Gulbadin Naib and Karim Janat. 

The team will be dependent on the veteran Mohammad Nabi for all-round impact, with the promising Azmatullah Omarzai, who enjoyed stellar success in the PSL 2023, assisting him. 

Skipper Rashid Khan will spearhead the spin-bowling unit alongside Mujeeb Ur Rahman and Noor Ahmad. Meanwhile, the fast bowling unit will be led by the trio of Fazalhaq Farooqi, Naveen-ul-Haq and Fareed Malik. 

In another notable event, young gun Sediqullah Atal has received a call-up into the squad. Being a left-handed batter, Atal has 531 First-Class runs to his name in 10 appearances. Although his T20 numbers aren't encouraging, it seems like the Afghanistan management has backed him to show his mettle at the highest level. 

Nangyal Kharoti, Zahir Khan and Nijat Masoud have been included in the reserves. 

Afghanistan squad for Pakistan T20Is

Ibrahim Zadran, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Usman Ghani, Najibullah Zadran, Gulbadin Naib, Karim Janat, Mohammad Nabi, Azmatullah Omarzai, Rashid Khan (C), Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Noor Ahmad, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Naveen-ul-Haq, Fareed Malik, Sediqullah Atal, Afsar Zazai, Sharafuddin Ashraf

Reserves: Nangyal Kharoti, Zahir Khan, Nijat Masoud