Debashis Sarangi ∙ Mar 13 2023, 9:55 AM

New Leader Appointed as Pakistan Name Squad for Afghanistan T20Is

image-lf6n9sktShadab Khan [Source: Twitter]

In a remarkable turn of events, Pakistan have named a strong 18-member squad for the upcoming T20I series against Afghanistan. The squad sees multiple changes, as mentioned below. 

As reported earlier, Pakistan have decided to rest some of their first-choice players, particularly Babar Azam and Shaheen Shah Afridi, for the tour. In Babar's absence, experienced all-rounder Shadab Khan will captain the side. 

Meanwhile, veteran all-rounder Imad Wasim has received a recall into the T20I setup, following his stupendous performance in the ongoing Pakistan Super League. Overall, Wasim has been a lone warrior for Karachi Kings, amassing 404 runs and scalping nine wickets in ten appearances in the competition. 

In another notable event, swashbuckling keeper-batter Azam Khan has been rewarded with a place in the side following his exceptional performance for Islamabad United in the ongoing PSL. 

Similarly, promising pacer Ihsanullah and batter Haseebullah, the finds of PSL 2023, have received their maiden call-ups to the national side. 

Opening batters Abdullah Shafique and Saim Ayub and young seamer Zaman Khan have also been included in the team due to their fabulous outings in the PSL competition. 

The rest of the squad has been picked on expected lines, with Iftikhar Ahmed, Shan Masood and Mohammad Nawaz retaining their places alongside captain Shadab. 

Pakistan's tour of Afghanistan, comprising three T20Is, will take place between March 24 to 27 in Sharjah.