• Home
  • Breaking News
  • Mrittunjoy Choudhary Called Up For Bangladeshs Odi Series Against Ireland

Mrittunjoy Choudhary Called Up for Bangladesh's ODI Series Against Ireland

image-lg8ql1h3Bangladesh vs Ireland [Image- Twitter]

The Bangladesh National Selection Committee, on Sunday, announced a 15-men squad for the forthcoming One-day International series against Ireland.

The three ODIs will take place at Chelmsford in Essex, England, on May 09, 12 and 14, and will serve as a part of the ongoing ICC Cricket World Cup ODI Super League.

The selectors have called-up rookie left-arm seamer Mrittunjoy Choudhary for his maiden international assignment.

Choudhary was a part of Bangladesh's U19 World Cup-winning campaign in 2020. He replaced veteran pacer Taskin Ahmed in the 15-men touring party. Ahmed has been sidelined due to a side strain, he suffered during the recent home series against the Irishmen.

Apart from Taskin, all other senior players like Shakib Al Hasan, Liton Das, Mustafizur Rahman, Mehidy Hasan Miraz have been named in the squad.

The early summer English conditions is likely to prove a challenge for the Asian Tigers, but chief selector Minhajul Abedin believes that the squad is well-experienced to get acclimatized to the conditions

Here's what Minhajul Abedin told the reporters:

"Conditions for the matches would be challenging. Our team is more experienced now than the past. We have enough ability to adapt quickly."

This series may not be as important for Bangladesh given that they have already qualified for the ODI World Cup, but it holds a lot of significance for Ireland, and South Africa, both of whom are yet to book their spot for the marquee event in India later this year.

Bangladesh recently defeated Ireland 2-0 in the recent ODI series on home soil, and they'd look to emulate the same in England.

Bangladesh's squad for Ireland ODIs:

Tamim Iqbal (c), Liton Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mustafizur Rahman, Rony Talukdar, Najmul Hossain, Towhid Hridoy, Yasir Ali, Mehidy Hasan, Taijul Islam, Ebadot Hossain, Shoriful Islam, Hasan Mahmud, Mrittunjoy Chowdhury