• Home
  • Cricket News
  • Jay Shah Announces Indias Domestic Season Duleep Trophy First Ranji Ck Nayudu Trophy Come Next

Jay Shah Announces India's Domestic Season; Duleep Trophy First, Ranji, CK Nayudu Trophy Come Next

India's domestic season will start with Duleep trophy (X)India's domestic season will start with Duleep trophy (X)

The BCCI has announced that India's domestic season for the 2024-25 season will commence with the Duleep Trophy on September 5th.

Prioritising player well-being, the BCCI has meticulously designed the timetable for the upcoming season's domestic tournaments. Earlier BCCI announced that the player wages will be increased from this season Ranji Trophy

"To prioritise player welfare, an extended gap between matches has been incorporated, ensuring ample time for recovery and sustained peak performance," BCCI secretary Jay Shah said in a statement.

The season will kick off with the Duleep Trophy, featuring four teams chosen by the senior men's team selection committee. The tournament is scheduled to start in Anantapur.

Following the Duleep Trophy, the Irani Trophy and first 5 league games of Ranji Trophy will take place, with white-ball tournaments such as the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy and Vijay Hazare Trophy sandwiched between them.

After these tournaments, the final Ranji Trophy matches will take place, following the knockout rounds. 

Apart from these, the CK Nayudu Trophy will have a new points system to encourage balanced performances. This means teams will get points for batting and bowling well in the first innings, as well as for taking the lead or winning outright.

"A thorough review will be conducted post-season to evaluate the efficacy of the new points system, with a potential implementation in the Ranji Trophy for subsequent seasons," Shah added.

Another historic decision has made regarding CK Nayudu trophy. There won't be any toss for  CK Nayudu games. Teams visiting will get the toss naturally.