• Home
  • Breaking News
  • Icc Announces World Cup 2023 Schedule Ind Vs Pak Wc Final To Be Played At Ahmedabad Mumbai Kolkata To Host Semifinals

ICC Announces World Cup 2023 Schedule | IND vs PAK & WC Final To Be Played At Ahmedabad, Mumbai & Kolkata To Host Semifinals


The International Cricket Council (ICC) and the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) have finally decided to make the schedule of the upcoming ICC World Cup 2023 public. As per the schedule, the tournament will begin with a high-voltage clash between England and New Zealand - last edition's finalists - at Ahmedabad on October 5. Meanwhile, the blockbuster contest between India and Pakistan will also be played at the same venue, on October 15.

The schedule got unveiled at an event hosted in Mumbai on Tuesday by BCCI's secretary Jay Shah, ICC CEO Jeoff Allardice and World Cup-winning players - Virender Sehwag and Muttiah Muralitharan. 

Please Note: 

  • If the West Indies qualify, they will be Q1 irrespective of where they finish in the Qualifiers. 
  • If Sri Lanka qualify, they will be Q2 irrespective of where they finish in the Qualifiers. 
  • If Pakistan qualify for the semi-finals, they will play in Kolkata. 
  • If India qualify for the semifinals, they will play in Mumbai unless playing against Pakistan, in which case they will play in Kolkata. 

All India games venues for WC 2023

The host nation, India, will begin its World Cup campaign on October 8, 2023, with the fixture against the five-time champions, Australia, in Chennai. After that, they will play Afghanistan in Delhi on October 11, followed by the mega-hit clash against Pakistan. The Men in Blue will be at loggerheads with Bangladesh at Pune, New Zealand at Dharamshala, England at Lucknow, and South Africa at Kolkata. Meanwhile, India’s remaining two matches will be played at Mumbai and Bengaluru against the teams who would qualify from the ongoing tournament contested in Zimbabwe.

Interestingly, the ongoing World Cup Qualifier is almost over with its league phase as Sri Lanka, West Indies, Zimbabwe, Netherlands, Scotland, and Oman have advanced to the Super 6 stage, after which two qualifying teams will be determined.

The megaevent will be hosted all across India in 10 venues for around 46 days from October 5 till November 19, 2023. Whereas the last league phase game will be held on November 12. 

All three knockouts will begin at 14:00 IST, with a reserve day entitled to these do-or-die fixtures. 

World Cups over the years

The 2023 edition of the World Cup will be the fourth tournament contested in India after the 1987, 1996, and 2011 seasons. 

Meanwhile, BCCI has hosted two ICC events since India's triumph at home in 2011; however, one of which was shifted to UAE & Oman due to the Coronavirus outbreak worldwide.

Nevertheless, just like the last edition - the 2023 WC will be in a round-robin format, where each team will play nine teams before the top-four qualify for the semifinals.