• Home
  • Cricket News
  • Gautam Gambhir Asks Bcci To Add Abhishek Nayar And Vinay Kumar In Indias Coaching Staff Reports

Gautam Gambhir Asks BCCI To Add Abhishek Nayar And Vinay Kumar In India's Coaching Staff: Reports

Abhishek Nayar and Vinay Kumar likely to join Gambhir's staff [x.com]Abhishek Nayar and Vinay Kumar likely to join Gambhir's staff [x.com]

The newly appointed head coach of the Indian team, Gautam Gambhir has asked BCCI for Abhishek Nayar and Vinay Kumar as batting and bowling coaches in his support staff according to the reports emerging from Indian cricket circles.

The Board of Cricket Control in India (BCCI) announced Gautam Gambhir as the new head coach of India after Rahul Dravid ended his tenure with a triumphant T20 World Cup in the USA and West Indies in June.

As per the latest reports that have emerged after Gambhir's appointment as the head coach, he has asked BCCI to contact his fellow Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) colleague, Abhishek Nayar to join him as the batting coach of India alongside a rather surprising name of Vinay Kumar who is wanted as the bowling coach in the new coaching staff.

The former India and Mumbai batter, Nayar, recently won the IPL title with KKR as a mentor and has a reputation for having a good eye for batting talents and is considered a great mentor who knows how to groom the batting talent with his valuable inputs both on and off the field.

He has famously worked a lot with Dinesh Karthik which helped him come back to the Indian setup and with Rinku Singh when he was going through an ACL injury. The Mumbai man is also a close ally of captain Rohit Sharma which would help the transition under the new coach smoother.

Vinay Kumar, on the other hand, is also considered to be someone who has a good eye for talent and is potent in working with the youngsters. He has also represented India in all three formats. If he joins Gambhir, this will be the first high profile job for the Karnataka veteran who has won them two consecutive Ranji Trophy titles in 2014 and 2015.