• Home
  • Breaking News
  • Bangladesh Name Squad For Sl Tests Litton Returns Nahid Rana Gets Maiden Call Up

Bangladesh Name Squad For SL Tests; Litton Returns, Nahid Rana Gets Maiden Call-up

Bangladesh will play 2 Tests vs SL [X.com]Bangladesh will play 2 Tests vs SL [X.com]

In a significant development, Bangladesh Cricket Board has announced a robust 15-member squad for the upcoming two-match series against Sri Lanka on home soil. The Tigers have included Litton Das, who was axed from their squad for the decider of the ongoing three-match ODI series. 

Notably, Litton's prolonged lean patch led to his exclusion from the ODI team before the all-important finale. However, riding on his impressive performance in the Test series against Afghanistan, the keeper-batter has made it into the squad this time. 

In another major highlight, Bangladesh have included Nahid Rana, who earns his maiden national call-up, thanks to his stellar run in the domestic circuit. 

With Ebadot Hossain and Taskin Ahmed out, BCB's chief selector Abdur Razzak expected Nahid and Mushfik Hasan to grab the opportunity and guide their team to glory. 

"Rana is a very exciting prospect. He is probably the quickest bowler in Bangladesh at the moment and can also extract steep bounce. Although these are early days for him, his first-class record is quite impressive," the ex-spinner said. 

"There is another young pacer Mushfik Hasan in the squad. This is the right time for these pacers to get the experience as Ebadot (Hossain) is out injured and Taskin (Ahmed) is also not playing Tests at the moment," he added. 

Stylish southpaw Najmul Hossain Shanto will lead the Tigers in the series, with Zakir Hasan, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Mominul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim, Taijul Islam and Mehidy Hasan Miraz expected to play key roles. 

Bangladesh's squad for Sri Lanka Tests

Najmul Hossain Shanto (Captain), Zakir Hasan, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Shadman Islam, Liton Das, Mominul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shahadat Hossain Dipu, Mehedi Hassan Miraz, Nayeem Hasan, Taijul Islam, Shoriful Islam, Syed Khaled Ahmed, Mushfik Hasan, Nahid Rana