• Home
  • Breaking News
  • Ace Pacer Makes A Comeback As New Zealand Announces Test Squad For England Series

Kyle Jamieson returns as New Zealand announces Test squad for England series

image-ldnb7ovqJamieson back in NZ Test side [Twitter]

In a major development, New Zealand have announced their 14-member squad for the upcoming home Test series against England. The series is slated to begin from February 16.

Tim Southee is set to lead the Blackcaps, and the presence of Kane Williamson will provide a calming presence in the New Zealand camp. There are no surprise inclusions in the Test team, with the home team going in with the core side that has done wonders in previous games.

Devon Conway and Tom Latham are set to open for the Kiwis, with Will Young, Kane Williamson, Henry Nicholls, and Daryl Mitchell forming a formidable middle-order.

Michael Bracewell, who is yet to stamp his authority in the Test format, gets another opportunity after a terrific series against India. With green top expected to play a major role, the selectors have opted for just a solitary front-line spinner in Ish Sodhi. 

The wily spinner played a major role in New Zealand's triumph over Pakistan, and is expected to continue the good work against the Three Lions as well.

The Kiwis have received a major boost with the inclusion of Kyle Jamieson. The tall pacer was kept on the sidelines due to a back injury he sustained last year, and he'll be eager to cement his place in the playing XI.

The other pacers in the side are Matt Henry, Neil Wagner, and Blair Tickner.

The first Test of the two-match series will take place in Bay Oval, Maunganui.

New Zealand squad

Tim Southee (c), Michael Bracewell, Tom Blundell (wk), Devon Conway, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, Neil Wagner, Kane Williamson, Will Young

Also Read: WPL auction likely to take place in Mumbai on February 13