World Cup 2023 | OneCricket's Team Of Tournament (League Stage)

image-loy9lt3uRohit Sharma will lead the team [AP]

After witnessing one and a half month of nail-biting actions, it's time for the cricket fans to enjoy the knockout fixtures of the ongoing World Cup. Four top-class teams, India, New Zealand, Australia and South Africa, are all set to battle it out for the ultimate prize. 

Although the focus shifts to the knockouts, the league stage of the tournament had a lot to talk about. Several teams scripted historic wins, while numerous players showcased their excellence with bat and ball. 

So, as the tournament enters its business end, we at OneCricket pick the team of the league stage. 

Batters: Rohit Sharma, Quinton de Kock, Virat Kohli

The top-order comprises Rohit Sharma, Quinton de Kock and Virat Kohli, who have been magnificent with the bat in the World Cup. 

While Rohit has hammered 503 runs, including a hundred, at a blistering strike rate of 121.49, Kohli has been the most successful batter with 594 runs to his name. On the other hand, De Kock has enjoyed stellar success with the bat, amassing 591 runs with four scintillating tons.

All-rounders: Rachin Ravindra, Azmatullah Omarzai, Glenn Maxwell, Ravindra Jadeja, Marco Jansen

Rachin Ravindra has been a revelation in the 2023 World Cup, emerging as New Zealand's top run-getter, garnering 565 runs at a superb strike rate of 108.44. His technique and stroke play, both against pace and spin has grabbed the limelight in the marquee event. 

Talking about the all-round department, we have decided to include four multidimensional players, considering their phenomenal performance in the tournament. 

Besides picking seven wickets, young Afghan cricketer Azmatullah Omarzai has 353 runs under his belt, the second highest for a number 5 batter in the tournament. 

Azmatullah Omarzai3537
Glenn Maxwell3975 (Eco- 4.95)
Ravindra Jadeja111 (SR- 115.63)16 (Eco-3.97)
Marco Jansen 157 (SR- 111.35)17

While the swashbuckling Glenn Maxwell is an obvious choice for number six, thanks to his heroic efforts with the bat, Ravindra Jadeja and Marco Jansen make it into the playing XI, courtesy of their incredible all-round effort. 

Bowlers- Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Adam Zampa

Although he has taken 17 wickets, Jasprit Bumrah's exploits in the powerplay is second to none. Regarded for his accuracy, Bumrah has made it incredibly tough for the batters to capitalise on the field restrictions. 

While Jansen and Bumrah will open the bowling, Mohammed Shami finds a place as the third seamer, as he has been sensational with the white cherry. The veteran speedster has picked 16 wickets in just five matches at an unbelievable strike rate of 12.

We have picked ace Australian player Adam Zampa to spearhead the spin attack, as he bowled match-winning spells on multiple occasions, scalping 22 wickets in only nine matches. 

OneCricket's Team Of League Stage

Rohit Sharma (C), Quinton de Kock (WK), Virat Kohli, Rachin Ravindra, Azmatullah Omarzai, Glenn Maxwell, Ravindra Jadeja, Marco Jansen, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Adam Zampa