• Home
  • Cricket Analysis
  • No Place For Rohit Kohli Bumrah Pandya To Lead Indias Probable Squad For Sl Odis

No Place For Rohit, Kohli & Bumrah; Pandya To Lead? India's Probable Squad For SL ODIs

Rohit and Kohli won't likely play vs SL [X]Rohit and Kohli won't likely play vs SL [X]

After the ongoing five-match T20I series against Zimbabwe, team India will travel to Sri Lanka for six white-ball matches against the hosts. 

The tour, which starts with a three-match T20I series, will conclude with an ODI series of as many fixtures between the Asian rivals. 

However, according to emerging reports, India might rest their three core players- Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah- for the Sri Lanka tour. 

These players will likely be rested and kept fresh for the packed Test season, which starts with India's two-match home assignment against Bangladesh. 

The reports also claim that veteran players Hardik Pandya and KL Rahul are the frontrunners to lead team India in Rohit Sharma's absence. 

So, as we inch closer towards the squad announcement, let's find out which players the selectors will likely pick for the much-anticipated tour. 

Hardik Pandya likely to lead India on SL tour

After Rohit Sharma's retirement, the BCCI is looking for India's new captain in the T20I format. Being India's vice-captain in the T20 World Cup, ace allrounder Hardik Pandya seems to be the frontrunner to succeed the legendary Mumbaikar. 

Given the apex body's tendency to appoint a single white-ball captain, Pandya might also lead India in Sri Lanka ODIs. However, being a senior member, KL Rahul will likely retain his place in the ODI team. 

In Rohit and Kohli's absence, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Yashasvi Jaiswal will shoulder India's top-order batting alongside Shubman Gill. 

Rishabh Pant, who emerges as a top contender for vice-captaincy alongside Gill, will bat in the middle order besides performing wicket-keeping duties. 

Rahul and skipper Hardik will be slotted at number five and six, respectively, followed by experienced allrounder Ravindra Jadeja. 

Kuldeep Yadav will lead India's spin bowling department, with Mohammed Siraj, Avesh Khan, and Mukesh Kumar included as fast bowling options. 

Sanju Samson, who recently joined the Indian team for the Zimbabwe series, could be among the reserve players alongside Rajat Patidar, Axar Patel and Khaleel Ahmed. 

India's probable squad for SL ODIs

Ruturaj Gaikwad, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Rishabh Pant (WK), KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya (C), Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar, Sanju Samson (WK), Khaleel Ahmed, Axar Patel, Rajat Patidar