• Home
  • Who Said What
  • Nobody Would Hire Me Ms Dhoni Makes Huge Statement Ahead Of Ipl 2024

'Nobody Would Hire Me…' - MS Dhoni Makes Huge Statement Ahead Of IPL 2024

image-lsilmmq9MS Dhoni during the IPL 2023 season (AP)

CSK legend MS Dhoni is set to prolong his illustrious IPL career by another year through the upcoming 2024 season. Ending all retirement speculations to rest, the 42-year-old was retained by the franchise back in November 2023 on IPL 2024 retention day.

As the ageing warhorse braces himself for CSK’s title defence, the former Indian captain was recently asked to reveal the ‘secret recipe’ of his franchise.

MS Dhoni quips about CSK’s success ahead of IPL 2024

Former Indian captain and CSK’s perennial leader MS Dhoni recently signed a new deal with Single.id, a cross-reward-programme identifier. The legendary cricketer also attended a function organised by the corporation, where he signified the importance of loyalty in all aspects of life.

At the event, Dhoni was asked to reveal how all players who join CSK tend to perform to their fullest, be it senior pros like Ajinkya Rahane or Shane Watson. 

The wicketkeeper-batsman, at his witty best, shrewdly responded:“If I say it openly then nobody would hire me, so I need to keep it a secret like all the big cola companies, they don't give their recipe out in the public.”

MS Dhoni led CSK to their fifth IPL title last year by defeating Gujarat Titans in the 2023 final at Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi Stadium.

Dhoni, along with Ravindra Jadeja and several other seniors and star performers were subsequently retained by the franchise in November 2023. The following month, the CSK management made further additions to their composition at the IPL 2024 auction in the form of Daryl Mitchell, Rachin Ravindra, Shardul Thakur among others.

With IPL 2024 slated to commence sometime in late-March, here is a look at CSK’s entire title-defence squad for the tournament.

CSK Squad for IPL 2024: 

MS Dhoni (c), Moeen Ali, Deepak Chahar, Devon Conway, Tushar Deshpande, Shivam Dube, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Ravindra Jadeja, Ajay Mandal, Mukesh Choudhary, Matheesha Pathirana, Ajinkya Rahane, Shaik Rasheed, Mitchell Santner, Simarjeet Singh, Nishant Sindhu, Prashant Solanki, Maheesh Theekshana, Rachin Ravindra, Shardul Thakur, Daryl Mitchell, Sameer Rizvi, Mustafizur Rahman and Avanish Rao Aravelly.