Akash Deep accused of bowling a no-ball to Joe Root [Source: @OYE_KIRAT/X.com]
The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC), the governing body responsible for setting cricket laws, has at last reacted to the uproar over Akash Deep's delivery that dismissed Joe Root in the second Test between England and India at Edgbaston on July 5, 2025. According to the law, the Indian bowler’s foot had landed inside the crease, which is legal.
The controversy began when several supporters and analysts observed Akash Deep's back foot landing beyond the return crease while bowling to Root.
As per the regulations, if a bowler's back foot comes to rest on the ground outside the return crease, it is deemed a no-ball. However, the third umpire did not call it one, which led to confusion.
Akash Deep Cleared Of Any Wrongdoings In Edgbaston Test
Former England cricketer Jonathan Trott, now a commentator, raised doubts about the legality of the delivery. But former India head coach Ravi Shastri supported the on-field decision, saying it was fair. Now, the MCC has confirmed that the umpire made the correct call.
According to MCC’s Law 21.5.1, a delivery is legal if the back foot lands inside the return crease at the first point of contact with the ground. Even if it later touches outside, it does not matter.
In Deep’s case, the MCC, talking to Cricbuzz, clarified that his foot first landed inside the crease, and only after that did part of it move outside. So, the delivery was fair.
"While Deep landed unusually wide on the crease, and some of his back foot appeared to touch the ground outside the return crease, the third umpire did not call a no ball. MCC is happy to clarify that this was a correct decision in Law," a MCC spokesperson said.
"MCC has always defined the moment that the back foot lands as the first point of contact with the ground. As soon as there is any part of the foot touching the ground, that foot has landed, and it is the foot's position at that time which is to be considered for a back foot no ball."
"Clearly, at the point Deep's foot first touched the ground, the back foot was within and not touching the return crease. Some of his foot may have touched the ground outside the crease subsequently - that is not relevant to this Law. At the point of landing he was within the crease, and this was therefore rightly deemed to be a legal delivery," the MCC clarified the rule, putting the controversy to rest once and for all," he added.
Akash Deep’s performance was one to remember. He took 10 wickets in the match, becoming only the second Indian bowler to achieve this in a Test played in England. His spell helped India bowl England out for 271 in the second innings, and India went on to win the match by a massive 336 runs, levelling the series 1-1.