• Home
  • Top Most
  • Top 5 Players With Most Man Of The Match Awards In Ipl

Top 5 Players With Most Man Of The Match Awards In IPL

image-lsfyp1u3MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli (X.COM)

In the Indian Premier League (IPL) a 'Player of the Match' award is given to the cricketer who contributes the most to their team's victory. This contribution could be in the form of crucial runs, important wickets, or an all-rounder who excels in batting and bowling.

However, there are times when a player from the losing team receives the Player of the Match award. This typically happens when a player delivers an exceptional performance despite being on the team that did not win the match. 

The IPL has seen numerous stellar performances, and many players have stood out with their consistent brilliance, often earning the prestigious Player of the Match award. Batters tend to dominate this list in the IPL due to their impact on the game. 

Let's take a look at the top 5 players with the most Man Of The Match awards in IPL. 

1. AB de Villiers 

AB de Villiers, widely recognized as 'Mr. 360°' stands out as one of the most exceptional players in IPL history. His ability to adapt to various situations and play innovative shots all around the ground has made him a formidable force in the league. In 184 matches, he has scored 5162 runs with an amazing strike average of 151.69.

Throughout his IPL career, AB de Villiers has been known for his incredible batting prowess, which includes remarkable stroke play, swift running between the wickets, and the capability to finish games under pressure. His ability to turn the course of a match single-handedly has undoubtedly earned him 25 Player of the Match awards and he sits at the top of the list.

2. Chris Gayle 

image-lsg0cl0g'Universal Boss'- Chris Gayle (X.COM)

Chris Gayle, the Caribbean cricketer, is widely recognized as the greatest player in the history of T20 cricket. He played for 13 seasons in the IPL and holds a record for hitting the most number of sixes. His ability to dominate any bowling attack is awe-inspiring. Gayle's excellent performance in 142 matches has earned him the "Player of the Match" award 22 times. 

His unbeaten score of 175* in the IPL is a testament to his remarkable skills. Dubbed as the 'Universe Boss' Gayle is a legendary figure in T20 cricket. He has an impressive strike rate of 148.96 and has scored a total of 4965 runs in the IPL. He holds the record for the most centuries and has scored 31 half-centuries, making him a formidable force in the tournament.

3. Rohit Sharma 

image-lsg0q4iqRohit Sharma (X.COM)

Rohit Sharma's achievements in the IPL are remarkable and have solidified his position as one of the most successful and influential figures in the tournament's history. Rohit Sharma has led his team to an unprecedented five IPL titles, making him the most successful captain. 

 He has won 19 Player of the Match awards attest to his ability to deliver match-winning performances for his team. Moreover, being ranked third overall and first among Indian players in terms of Player of the Match awards underscores his impact on the IPL.

Rohit Sharma's batting records in the IPL are equally impressive. With 6,211 runs in 243 matches, he stands as one of the highest run-scorers in IPL history. 

4. David Warner 

image-lsg14sfcThe star Australian batter David Warner (X.COM)

The star Australian batter David Warner is one of the most successful players in the history of IPL. The destructive opener is the third-highest run-scorer in the cash-rich league as he has scored 6397 runs so far in 176 matches with a strike rate of 139.92 and an average of 42.23. He also holds the record for the most fifties (50) in IPL history.

He also led Sunrisers Hyderabad to their first title in 2016. Warner has won the POTM award 18 times in the tournament. 

5. MS Dhoni 

image-lsg1gmtkMS Dhoni in IPL (X.COM)

MS Dhoni's contributions to the IPL are exceptional, and his records speak volumes about his impact on the tournament over the years. As one of the most successful captains and players in IPL history, MS Dhoni holds the record for the most number of matches played in the tournament. 

Despite predominantly batting in the lower middle order, Dhoni has scored 5082 runs in 250 matches at an impressive average of 38.79, showcasing his ability to finish matches and anchor innings when required. MS Dhoni has won the POTM award 17 times in the tournament.