• Home
  • Player Stories
  • It Is The Team Of Jadeja Unadkat And Pujara Aakash Chopra Lauds Saurashtra

"It is the team of Jadeja, Unadkat and Pujara", Aakash Chopra lauds Saurashtra

image-lefcyg0vAakash Chopra [Source: Twitter]

Former Indian opener and now-turned-commentator Aakash Chopra showered Saurashtra with accolades for their consistent performance in India's domestic cricket over the last decade. 

Saurashtra emerged victorious in the Ranji Trophy final held at Kolkata's Eden Gardens last week, defeating Bengal by nine wickets. 

After taking a commanding 230-run lead in the first innings, Saurashtra bowled out Bengal for 241 in the second innings before successfully chasing down the required 12 runs with the loss of a wicket.

The renowned commentator further highlighted that Saurashtra's accomplished cricketers, Jaydev Unadkat, Ravindra Jadeja, and Cheteshwar Pujara, are making significant contributions to the international cricket circuit.

Here's what Aakash Chopra said

"Saurashtra have become the Ranji Trophy champions once again. They defeated Bengal. Welcome them with applause. The rise and rise of Saurashtra is the story of domestic cricket. If there is a most successful team of the last decade, it is the team of Jaydev Unadkat, Ravindra Jadeja and Cheteshwar Pujara - I mean Team Saurashtra."

"Think about it - Jaydev Unadkat is now a part of the Indian team in two formats (Tests and ODIs), Ravindra Jadeja is the world's best all-rounder at the moment and Cheteshwar 'dependable' Pujara is only the second player in the current Indian team to have played 100 Tests."

Ravindra Jadeja, who recently made a comeback in the ongoing Border Gavaskar Trophy against Australia, delivered back-to-back exceptional performances in the first two Tests and was adjudged the Man of the Match on both occasions.

Following his impressive performance, Jaydev Unadkat has also been retained in the third and fourth Tests against Australia. 

To everyone's surprise, he has also been added to the ODI squad for the upcoming three-match series.