• Home
  • Match Hub
  • West Indies Announce 15 Man Squad For Australia Tour Jason Holder Opts Out

West Indies Announce 15-man Squad For Australia Tour; Jason Holder Opts Out

image-lqenxz6tFormer skipper Jason Holder has opted out of Australia's Test tour [X.com]

Cricket West Indies (CWI) named a 15-member Windies squad for the upcoming two-Test tour of Australia, which will commence on January 17 and will be a part of the new World Test Championship (WTC) cycle 2023-25. 

West Indies as expected will be led by Kraigg Brathwaite, with pacer Alzarri Joseph acting as his deputy. The squad sees a balance of both experience and youth, with the selectors naming several first-timers like Kavem Hodge, Kevin Sinclair, Zachary McCaskie, Tevin Imlach, Justin Greaves, Akeem Jordan and Shamar Joseph.

Former captain and ace all-rounder Jason Holder has opted out of the tour, citing his preparations for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024. Pacer Jayden Seales remained unavailable for selection after failing to recover from any shoulder injury and Kyle Mayers much like Holder opted out of the series to focus on T20 cricket.

CWI chief selector and former West Indies legend Desmond Haynes expressed his confidence in the team and urged selected players to showcase their talent in the red-ball arena after impressing in First-Class. 

All selected players will arrive in Australia on December 30, and participate in a preparation camp from January 2-9.

Here's what Haynes said

"The squad has been affected by the unavailability of some key players. However, we have had a very strong red-ball program being run over the past year, which has unearthed significant talent throughout the region. The selected players have passed each test given to them and must now be given the opportunity to showcase their skills in the test arena. Australia away is always a challenge, but we are confident in our team.”

The Frank Worrell Trophy will begin on January 17, with the first Test taking place in Adelaide, which will be followed by the second and final Test at Gabba on January 25, which will be a Day/Night encounter.

Prior to the series, West Indies will be engaged four-day tour match against CA XI at Karen Rolton Oval between January 10-13. 

West Indies Squad

Kraigg Brathwaite (C), Alzarri Joseph, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Kirk McKenzie, Alick Athanaze, Kavem Hodge, Justin Greaves, Joshua Da Silva, Akeem Jordan, Gudakesh Motie, Kemar Roach, Kevin Sinclair, Tevin Imlach, Shamar Joseph, and Zachary McCaskie.