• Home
  • Match Hub
  • Watch Sajana Wins It For Mi With A Match Defining Thumping Last Ball Six Vs Dc

[Watch] Sajana Wins It For MI With A Match Defining, Thumping Last Ball Six Vs DC

image-lsyzeo1sWPL 2024 (X.com)

In an absolutely thrilling finish of the WPL 2024 season opener between Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals, underdog Sajana came out of nowhere to win it for Mumbai. With five needed off the final delivery, the debutant slammed a maximum to cause heartbreak for DC.

The stage was set for a fitting finish to the WPL 2024 season opener as Delhi Capitals set up a competitive total of 171 runs on board in the first innings owing to Alice Capsey's heroics.

 However, MI fought back, with the skipper, Harmanpreet Kaur leading the charge. She kept the required run rate under control and played her shots with absolute authority.

However, despite her half-century, the match went on to the final over. With 12 needed off the final over, Pooja Vastrakar threw her wicket away to Alice Capsey in a soft dismissal. 

Regardless, with a new batter in, Amanjot Kaur played smart and allowed skipper Harmanpreet to take strike. The captain scored a much-needed boundary but lost her wicket on the penultimate delivery of the game in a major anti-climax moment.

Mumbai Indians had not only lost their skipper but also registered a dot ball. With five needed off the final delivery, an inexperienced all-rounder, S Sajana, took her guard. Delhi Capitals were favorites, but the underdog debutant stole the thunder. 

She danced down the track and lofted a clean strike over long-on to register a thumping victory for her side. 

Alice Capsey and the entire DC squad stood in disbelief, whereas Sajana and the MI dugout erupted in joy. Sajana enjoyed her moment, jumping and throwing a punch in the air in a moment of relief. She owned the spotlight, and it was her time to shine.

That being said, the WPL 2024 season opener kicked off on a thrilling and exciting note. It's a great sign of women's cricket and also a fitting endorsement for the new season of the league to follow.