• Home
  • Match Hub
  • Watch Alana King Hits A Six And Survives Hit Wicket On Same Ball In A Chaotic Moment

[Watch] Alana King Hits A Six And Survives Hit-Wicket On Same Ball In A Chaotic Moment

Akshita Patel∙ Feb 10 2024, 6:33 PM | timer 2 Min Read

image-lsg2lwlnKing hit a six and survived hit wicket on same ball

Australian women's cricketer Alana King witnessed an embarrassing moment in today's ODI game against South Africa when she hit Masabata Klaas for a six and also knocked off the stumps in the process. However, she miraculously survived the hit-wicket dismissal, with the square-leg umpire declaring it a no ball. 

Australian women were facing the South African women's cricket team in the third and final ODI of the ongoing bilateral series when this chaotic moment caught the fans' attention.

Australia opted to bat first, and a solid partnership between Beth Mooney and Tahila McGrath soared the hosts' score above 200 runs.

It was then the time for the tail to add some extra runs and finish on a high, which is exactly what leg spinner Alana King tried to pull off. 

She pulled a sharp beamer off Masabata Klaas for a six over the deep square leg boundary. However, while doing so, she lost her balance and ended up smashing the stumps. 

However, in a dramatic turn of events, King was declared not out as the square-leg umpire signalled the beamer an illegal delivery. 

The spectators, commentators, umpires, and players were all amazed and in splits by the events that unfolded. It seemed unreal, but King had defied fate to survive in the middle somehow. 

King's remarkable feat of hitting a six and surviving a hit-wicket on the same ball is a rare occurrence in cricket and added an element of drama to the match. Despite the unusual turn of events, King showcased her batting talent and ability to handle pressure situations with composure.

Regardless, King could only manage to add 17 runs to the Aussie total as the hosts wrapped up the first inning with 277 runs on board.