• Home
  • Match Hub
  • Sl Vs Pak Abdullah Shafique Agha Salman Extend Pakistan To 397 Runs

SL vs PAK | Abdullah Shafique, Agha Salman Extend Pakistan To 397 Runs

image-lkjnvc7zAbdullah Shafique in action on Day 3 (AP)

Pakistan, leading 1-0 in the two-match series, strengthened their grip over Sri Lanka in the second Test in Colombo. The visitors batted out the entire day to add another 385 runs to their overnight score, with centurion Agha Salman still unbeaten at the crease.

Earlier in the day, Pakistan opener Abdullah Shafique registered his highest Test score, and even outperformed the entirety of Sri Lanka’s first innings effort through his knock.

Agha Salman extends lead after Shafique double ton

Abdullah Shafique, resuming Day 3 at 87*, reached his fourth Test century with the opening hour of the morning. His overnight partner and captain Babar Azam soon perished to Sri Lankan spinner Prabath Jayasuriya at 39.

Shafique later converted his hundred into a double, as he registered his best Test score through his 201-run knock. The opening batter formed century-plus partnerships with Saud Shakeel and Agha Salman, before becoming Jayasuriya’s second victim of the innings.

Salman himself registered his second Test ton as he piled on the Lankan pain with his aggressive approach at the crease. The 29-year-old unleashed 15 boundaries and a six in his innings, and batted with a strike-rate of above 89 during his 148-ball unbeaten stay at the crease.

For Sri Lanka, Jayasuriya and new-ball pacer Asitha Fernando were the only wicket-takers of the high-scoring day, with the latter of the two claiming three wickets during his industrious 24-over spell.

Pakistan eventually reached 563-5 by stumps on Day 3, and will resume their innings the following morning with unbeaten centurion Salman and Mohammad Rizwan (37*).

Brief Scores:

Sri Lanka: 166 all out (48.4)
Dhananjaya de Silva 57 (68), Dinesh Chandimal 34 (60)
Abrar Ahmed 4-69 (20.4), Naseem Shah 3-41 (14)

Pakistan: 563-5 (132)
Abdullah Shafique 201 (326), Agha Salman 132* (148)
Asitha Fernando 3-133 (24), Prabath Jayasuriya 2-181 (52)

Pakistan lead by 397 runs