• Home
  • Match Hub
  • Psl 2023 Lahore Qalandars Knock Out Peshawar Zalmi To Enter Final

PSL 2023: Lahore Qalandars Knock Out Peshawar Zalmi to Enter Final

image-lfcubd71Mirza Tahir Baig scored a fifty (Source: Twitter/@lahoreqalandars)

Lahore Qalandars booked the finale date with Multan Sultans as the former gave Peshawar Zalmi a four-wicket thumping in the second eliminator of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2023.

Haris bulldozes Lahore bowlers 

After opting to bat first, Peshawar Zalmi lost Saim Ayub in only the second over of the innings. However, an 89-run stand shared by Babar Azam and Mohammad Haris helped them get off the ground.

While it was the time to oil the wheels, Lahore Qalandars' Rashid Khan brought Peshawar back to square one as his double-strike in the 12th over put his side ahead in the match.

While Babar perished after scoring a 36-ball 42, Haris, despite going a tad slow in the later half of the innings, reorganised things as the Zalmi finished at 171/5 via his 85-run knock.

For Lahore, Zaman Khan had a terrific night as he claimed two wickets while conceding just 20 runs in three overs.

Peshawar knuckle under

Chasing 172 runs, Lahore Qalandars suffered an early bump in the form of Fakhar Zaman's wicket. Two more dismissals followed soon as the Qalandars were reduced to 69/3 in 8.2 overs.

Notwithstanding the run-rate, Lahore still needed a partnership. The goods were delivered by Mirza Tahir Baig and Sam Billings as the duo with their 50-run fourth-wicket stand took the Men in Green closer to a victory.

Although Baig was dismissed soon after hitting a half-century and, Sam Billings and Sikandar Raza followed suit, it did mean much in the context of the match as Lahore Qalandars chased the target in the 19th over with four wickets to spare.

Brief scores

Peshawar Zalmi - 171/5 (20)

Mohammad Haris 85 (54), Babar Azam 42 (36); Zaman Khan 2-20 (3), Rashid Khan 2-42 (4)

Lahore Qalandars - 176/6 (18.5)

Mirza Baig 54 (42), Sam Billings 28 (21); Azmatullah Omarzai 2-30 (4), Wahab Riaz 1-20 (3)

Lahore Qalandars won by four wickets