• Home
  • Match Hub
  • Promising Youngsters Earn Maiden Call Up As Bangladesh Announce Squad For Ireland T20is

Promising Youngsters Earn Maiden call-up as Bangladesh Announce Squad for Ireland T20Is

image-lfjlx47r14 member squad announced for Ireland series [AP Photos]

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) have announced a strong 14-man squad for their men's cricket team's upcoming T20I series against Ireland, who are currently on a full-fledged tour of the nation.  Shakib Al Hasan will continue to captain Bangladesh, who recently claimed their first-ever T20I series clean sweep over World Champions England.

As many as three changes have been made to this squad from the England series as Shoriful Islam makes his comeback into the side, while the duo of Rishad Hossain and Jaker Ali received their maiden T20I national call-up.

Leg-spinner Rishad has been around the set-up for a while, however, his lack of chances in the domestic circuit has hampered a national spot.

Jaker has been in top form lately, slamming three back-to-back centuries in the Bangladesh Cricket League (BCL) to finish the tournament as the leading run-getter (492). 

Afif Hossain, Tanvir Islam, and Rejaur Rahman Raja have been left out.

Interestingly, Afif played 61 straight T20I matches for Bangladesh before being dropped from the final match against England last week and is now being left out of the squad. The three-match series will be played in Chattogram between March 27 and 31. 

Hosts lead the ongoing ODI series 1-0, with the final match taking place tomorrow.


Shakib Al Hasan (c), Rony Talukder, Litton Das (wk), Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Tawhid Hridoy, Shamim Hossain, Mehidy Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, Mustafizur, Hasan Mahmud, Taskin, Shoriful, Rishad Hossain, and Jaker Ali.