• Home
  • Match Hub
  • Mumbai Clinch 42Nd Ranji Trophy As Musheer Khan Tanush Kotian Star In The Final

Mumbai Clinch 42nd Ranji Trophy As Musheer Khan & Tanush Kotian Star In The Final

Mumbai celebrating their 42nd victory Ranji final (X.com)Mumbai celebrating their 42nd victory Ranji final (X.com)

In a captivating climax to his illustrious first-class career, Dhawal Kulkarni orchestrated a storybook ending for his first class career. With the fate of the Ranji Trophy final hanging in the balance, Kulkarni delivered a masterstroke by claiming the final wicket of Vidarbha. 

This decisive moment not only sealed Mumbai's 42nd Ranji Trophy victory but also etched Kulkarni's name in the annals of cricketing history.

Ajinkya Rahane led Mumbai merged victorious over Vidarbha, securing the title with a 169-run victory margin. 

Watch: Mumbai celebrating their win here

Mumbai showcased a dominant performance in the Ranji final, delivering an all-round display. They posted a total of 224 runs in the first innings, with Shardul Thakur's contribution of 75 runs proving crucial. 

The Mumbai bowlers, led by Dhawal Kulkarni, Shams Mulani, and Tanush Kotian, made a strong comeback, each claiming three wickets to restrict Vidarbha to 110 runs.

In the second innings, Mumbai continued their resilience, with Musheer Khan notching a century and Shreyas Iyer, captain Ajinkya Rahane, and Shams Mulani contributing fifties. 

However, Harsh Dubey's impressive bowling performance saw him pick up five wickets for Vidarbha. Mumbai set a formidable target of 538 runs for Vidarbha to chase in the final innings.

Just when Mumbai seemed poised for an easy victory, Vidarbha staged an impressive comeback. The standout performances of Harsh Dubey and Akshay Wadkar added a twist to the narrative, with Akshay even achieving a century. 

Earlier, Karun Nair laid a solid foundation for Vidarbha with a commendable 74-run contribution. While Mumbai maintained their dominance throughout, Vidarbha's determined batting display today injected a thrilling element into the game, making for an intriguing contest.

Tanush Kotian once again showcased his prowess on the field by clinching four crucial wickets in the second innings. Following his stellar performance in the 2022-23 SMAT final, Kotian brought his A-game to the fore yet again, proving to be clutch in another crucial final match. His remarkable consistency and impactful contributions earned him the well-deserved title of Player of the Series.

Musheer Khan rightfully earned the title of Man of the Match in the final for his outstanding century and two crucial wickets in the second innings. 

Additionally, Dhawal Kulkarni was honored with a special commendation by the MCA for his exceptional contributions throughout his career.