Tejas Rathi ∙ Dec 22 2022, 1:00 AM | 2 Min Read

Lanka Premier League 2022 Playoffs Round-up

image-lby14fufRavi Bopara (Source: Twitter)

The playoffs of the Lanka Premier League 2022 concluded on Wednesday (December 21). Here is a brief report on the exciting matches which transpired at Colombo. 

Qualifier 1: Kandy Falcons vs Jaffna Kings

Batting first, Falcons lost their key batter Andre Fletcher (2) early. Pathum Nissanka (35) and Kamindu Mendis (26) were impressive to guide the team in the right direction. 

In the middle-order, Najibullah Zadran (22) was a good support, while tail-enders did their bit to help the Falcons post 143 on the board. Vijayakanth Viyaskanth was the pick of the bowlers with three scalps. 

In reply, Kings had an average start with Rahmanullah Gurbaz (10) and Avishka Fernando (21). Afterwards, the contributions from Afif Hossain (14), Sadeera Samarawickrama (15*) and Dunith Wellalage (19*) paved the way for the team to win the match by 24 runs, before the rain curtailed the match. 

Brief Scores: 

Kandy Falcons - 143/8 (20)

Pathum Nissanka 35 (31), Kamindu Mendis 26 (21);
Vijayakanth Viyaskanth 3/30, Maheesh Theekshana 2/24

Jaffna Kings - 98/3 (11)

Avishka Fernando 21 (11), Dunith Wellalage 19 (23);
Carlos Brathwaite 2/32

Result: Jaffna Kings won by 24 runs (DLS Method)

Eliminator : Colombo Stars vs Galle Gladiators

Invited to bat first, Asad Shafiq (4), Kusal Mendis (4) and Lahiru Udara (6) fell early for the Gladiators. 

It took the composed knock from Sahan Arachchige (51) amid a flurry of wickets of Iftikhar Ahmed (5) and Imad Wasim (17). The Stars posted a total of 108 on the board in 18 overs, which was reduced due to rain. Benny Howell picked three wickets, followed by Kasun Rajitha and Mohammad Nabi with two scalps. 

Then, Nishan Madushka (13) and Dinesh Chandimal (13) could provide the team with a solid start, while Charith Asalanka (10) was disappointing as well. 

However, the experience of Ravi Bopara (43*) and Angelo Mathews (20*) came in handy for the Stars to seal the Qualifier 2 spot. 

Brief Scores: 

Galle Gladiators - 108/9 (18)

Sahan Arachchige 53 (31), Imad Wasim 17 (15);
Benny Howell 3/17, Kasun Rajitha 2/9

Colombo Stars - 109/3 (16.5)

Ravi Bopara 43* (28), Angelo Mathews 20* (25);
Imad Wasim 1/18, Nuwan Pradeep 1/21

Result: Colombo Stars won by 7 wickets

Read more: IPL valuation rises 75% in one year to a whopping $11 Billion!