• Home
  • Match Hub
  • Ind Vs Aus Rinku Singh Joins Yuvraj Hardik In Elite List For 9 Ball 31 Blitz In 2Nd T20i

IND vs AUS | Rinku Singh Joins Yuvraj, Hardik In Elite List For 9-Ball 31* Blitz In 2nd T20I

image-lpfnaaepRinku Singh in action against AUS in 2023 T20I series (AP)

Rinku Singh blasted four boundaries and two huge sixes to race to 31 unbeaten runs from just nine balls against Australia, all during the death overs of the Indian innings in their second T20I match. Arriving to the crease following the dismissal of his skipper and senior teammate Suryakumar Yadav, Rinku signaled his intentions right from the outset, as he pulled Sean Abbot for a scorching boundary off just his second delivery.

The dynamic southpaw accumulated 20 more runs off Abbott in a space of four balls the same over, before taking Nathan Ellis to the cleaners towards the closing stages.

Remarkably, through the course of his thunderous cameo, Rinku Singh has now joined a legion of great Indian T20I batters for a huge batting record.

Rinku Singh joins Yuvraj, Karthik in elite list

India’s latest batting sensation Rinku Singh pumped out 31 unbeaten runs from just nine balls against Australia to lift his side’s total to a monumental 235-4 from their 20 overs in the second T20I at Thiruvananthapuram. The cricketer eventually finished his innings while holding an astonishing strike-rate of 344.44.

His batting bombardment against Australia now marks the fourth highest strike-rate for an Indian batter in any single innings of a T20I match. He joined an elite batting list, which is currently led by former Indian southpaw Yuvraj Singh.

Singh’s 16-ball 58 against England at the 2007 T20 World Cup (362.50 strike-rate) continues to remain India’s highest strike-rate in a single T20I innings among batters with more than 25 runs to their name. Dinesh Karthik, who bludgeoned 29* from eight balls in the 2018 Nidahas Trophy final stands second on the celebrated list. Here is a look at top four Indian batters with highest strike-rate in a single T20I innings (minimum 25 runs scored):

Runs (Balls)
Innings Strike-Rate
Yuvraj Singh58 (16)362.50
Dinesh Karthik29*(8)362.50
Hardik Pandya32*(9)355.55
Rinku Singh31*(9)344.44

Rinku Singh also scored a match-winning 22* from 13 balls against Australia in the first T20I to take India 1-0 up in their five-game home series earlier this week.