• Home
  • Match Hub
  • Ilt20 2023 Gulf Giants James Vince Overshadows Robin Uthappa With Run Chase Special

Gulf Giants’ James Vince overshadows Robin Uthappa with run-chase special

image-lcz3t3hrErasmus and Vince celebrate run riot in Dubai (ILT20)

English international James Vince engineered Gulf Giants’ thrilling run-chase against the Dubai Capitals. His unbeaten 83-run effort drove his side to a six-wicket win in Dubai, thus headlining his team’s second successive win with the bat.

James Vince leads from the front, tenders Uthappa’s 79 in vain

Earlier, Gulf Giants skipper James Vince won the toss and opted to field. The Capitals openers Robin Uthappa and Joe Root got them off to a flier, even though the later only faced 11 deliveries in the duo’s 71-run opening stand.

While Uthappa did the bulk of the scoring at the top with his 46-ball 79, the former English skipper scored just six in the entirety of their partnership. Captain Rovman Powell and Zimbabwean genius Sikandar Raza contributed in the middle with 30s before Giants’ tight bowling dried up runs at the death.

Highlights from Robin Uthappa's cunning 79, watch video

Hazrat Luqman’s last over three-ball 10 cameo eventually elevated the Capitals’ score to 182-8, with Giants spinner Rehan Ahmed claiming three key wickets off his four overs.

Ahmed later whacked a 17-ball 28 at the top for his side. After his dismissal at the stroke of powerplay, his skipper and opening partner Vince took charge of the acceleration and went on to register his second unbeaten fifty-plus score of the season. The cricketer struck 83 imperial runs in the run-chase and charted seven boundaries and three sixes in the innings.

Gerhard Erasmus at number four also clubbed a rapid 52 as the Giants overhauled their task with an over to spare.

Capitals’ Afghanistan import Mujeeb Ur Rahman staged the lone fight with the ball for his side, claiming two wickets in his opening spell.

Brief scores:

Dubai Capitals: 182-8 (20)

Robin Uthappa 79 (46), Rovman Powell 38 (25)
Rehan Ahmed 3-28, Richard Gleeson 2-22

Gulf Giants: 183-4 (19)

James Vince 83* (56), Gerhard Erasmus 52 (28)
Mujeeb Ur Rahman 2-36, Rovman Powell 1-17

Gulf Giants won by six wickets

ALSO READ | Carlos Brathwaite roped in by Gulf Giants, replaces Craig Overton