• Home
  • Match Hub
  • Controversy In Wtc Final David Bedingham Not Given Out Despite Handling The Ball

Controversy In WTC Final! David Bedingham Not Given Out Despite Handling The Ball



Bedingham handled the ball [Source: OneCricket/X.com]
Bedingham handled the ball [Source: OneCricket/X.com]

The World Test Championship (WTC) final between Australia and South Africa has been a riveting battle with both the sides giving their hundred percent to seal the win at the mecca of Cricket, Lord's. Australia entered the game as the defending champions but were given a reality check by the Proteas bowlers on Day 1.

The Australian side got bundled out for a paltry 212 and the South African side had the upper hand before the Kangaroos turned the tables and knocked over 4 South African wickets in no time. This is when David Bedingham, alongside Temba Bavuma came to the rescue and forged a brilliant partnership. 

However, during the final, a controversy erupted as Bedingham, while batting grabbed the ball with his hands but was not given out by the umpires.

Did Bedingham cheat in the WTC final?

In the last over before lunch on Day 2, Beau Webster bowled a short of a length ball which nipped back in and Bedingham gets an inside-edge as the ball got stuck inside his right pad. The batter then collects it and drops the ball on the ground as the Aussie players appealed for handling the ball dismissal.

However, after careful discussion, the umpires gave him not out and the decision raised eyebrows. But why was he not given out?.

What does the rule says about handling the ball?

As per the rules by the MCC, a batter could be given out for handling the ball if the batter intentionally touches the ball with one or both of their hands while not holding the bat. However, the rule also states that it is considered a dead ball if the ball nestles into the flap of the batters' pad.

In such a situation, the umpire gives benefit of doubt to the batter and as per this rule, Bedingham was given not out since the ball was. already in his pad flap when he touched it with his hands.