• Home
  • Match Hub
  • Bbl 12 Prs Vs Hbh Aaron Hardie Runs Riot As Scorchers Maul Hurricanes

BBL 12, PRS vs HBH: Aaron Hardie runs riot as Scorchers maul Hurricanes

image-ld1l19awAaron Hardie in action [Source: Twitter]

Hosts Perth Scorchers handed Hobart Hurricanes a heavy seven-wicket defeat in the 46th match of the Big Bash League 2022-23. The Scorchers moved one spot up to the top of the standings with this commanding victory. 

Lower order powers Hurricanes to a respectable total

Batting first, Hobart Hurricanes got off to a disastrous start, as Lance Morris and Andrew Tye removed their top three for single digit scores. Zak Crawley looked steady, but departed in the ninth over for a run-a-ball 19. 

The Hurricanes' ship sank further with the departure of Tim David and D'Arcy Short, who could contribute 20 and 18 runs, respectively. However, Tom Andrews and Nathan Ellis stood tall and stitched a vital 44-run stand for the eighth wicket, propelling Hobart to 146 in 20 overs. 

For Perth Scorchers, Lance Morris and Andrew Tye scalped two wickets each, while Jason Behrendorff, Ashton Agar and Matt Kelly claimed one wicket each. 

Aaron Hardie's fireworks leave the Hurricanes shell-shocked

Chasing 147, Perth Scorchers had an undesirable start to their innings, losing openers Stephen Eskinazi and Cameron Bancroft within the first two overs. 

However, their two mainstays, Aaron Hardie and Josh Inglis resurrected the innings, adding 127 runs for the third wicket. While Inglis held his composure for a 35-ball 53, Hardie unleashed his vintage best, smashing 90* runs with the help of thirteen fours and one six. 

Their valiant efforts didn't go in vain, as the Scorchers chased down the total with seven wickets and 15 balls to spare. 

Brief Scores

Hobart Hurricanes: 146/9 (20)
Tom Andrews 27 (21), Nathan Ellis 24 (18);
Lance Morris 2/21 (4), Andrew Tye 2/30 (4)

Perth Scorchers: 147/3 (17.3)
Aaron Hardie 90* (62), Josh Inglis 53 (35);
Riley Meredith 2/35, Patrick Dooley 1/20

Perth Scorchers won by seven wickets. 

Also Read: IND vs NZ: Shubman Gill surpasses Sachin Tendulkar in twin batting milestones