• Home
  • Breaking News
  • Dane Van Niekerk Misses Out As South Africa Announce Squad For Womens Tri Series

Dane van Niekerk misses out as South Africa announce squad for Women's Tri Series

image-ld1dq3o8South Africa Women in action [Source: Twitter]

In a significant development, Cricket South Africa has named a 17-member Women's squad for the upcoming tri-series involving India and West Indies. 

The squad, which is a mix of experience and youth, will be led by Sune Luus. Veteran batter Dane van Niekerk has been ruled out upon failing to recover from an ankle injury. 

Mignon du Preez, who retired from international cricket last year, and Trisha Chetty are the only two missing from the team that played the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham 2022. 

Top order batter Tazmin Brits and spin bowling all-rounder allrounder Delmi Tucker - who debuted in a T20I against England last year - have replaced them in the team. 

Here's what Clinton du Preez, Convenor of Selectors, said

"Dane has progressed very well and it's a step in the right direction. Unfortunately, she did not meet the minimum national standards and therefore is ineligible for selection and we will continue working on her fitness as we continue through the tri-series, to assess her eligibility for the [T20] World Cup, 

"The uncapped players included have been part of the recent camps and have grown immensely. Annerie as an allrounder, she will bring much depth to the squad and versatility within the team. Tebogo has been working hard and will add an additional option as a wicketkeeper and it's great for them to be a part of it."

South Africa Women's squad for the tri-series

Sune Luus (C), Chloe Tryon (VC), Anneke Bosch, Tazmin Brits, Nadine de Klerk, Annerie Dercksen, Lara Goodall, Shabnim Ismail, Sinalo Jafta, Marizanne Kapp, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Tebogo Macheke, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Tumi Sekhukhune, Delmi Tucker, Laura Wolvaardt

The Women's tri-series between India, South Africa and West Indies will be played between January 19 to February 2. 

Also Read: Matthew Short credits Cameron White for his astounding success in BBL 2022-23