Abu Dhabi T10 2022 | Day 1 Round-up

image-laukzdz4Bangla Tigers started off with a win [Source: Twitter}

The sixth edition of the Abu Dhabi T10 League got underway last evening (November 23) with as many as two matches taking place. Here's a brief report on the results of the games - New York Strikers against Bangla Tigers, and Deccan Gladiators against Team Abu Dhabi.

New York Strikers vs Bangla Tigers

​Match 1 saw the newcomer New York Strikers take on the experienced Bangla Tigers. Put into bat, the Tigers lost two early wickets, but their innings found stability in Evin Lewis. Known for his hard-hitting style, Lewis smashed a 22-ball 58, keeping the Tigers in the hunt.

Colin Munro, too, chipped in with a 30, and skipper Shakib Al Hasan scored an unbeaten 14, helping their side to 131. Wahab Riaz and Ravi Rampaul claimed two-wickets apiece.

Chasing 132, Pakistan's Azam Khan took charge from the get-go and blitzed to a 13-ball 34. Matheesha Pathirana and Rohan Mustafa, however, continued to make regular dents in the Strikers' chase but found some resistance in the form of Kieron Pollard.

Pollard could not find ample support from the other end, which saw the side lose the match by 19 runs, despite remaining unbeaten on 45 off 19.

Bangla Tigers 131-5 (10)

Evin Lewis 58 (22), Colin Munro 30 (17);

Wahab Riaz 2-24 (2), Ravi Rampaul 2-16 (2)

New York Strikers 112-8 (10)

Azam Khan 34 (13), Kieron Pollard 45 (19);

Rohan Mustafa 2-20 (2), Matheesha Pathirana 2-22 (2)

Bangla Tigers won by 19 runs

Deccan Gladiators vs Team Abu Dhabi

Opting to bat, it was Nicholas Pooran, who lit up the night skies with his fireworks. Pooran, along with Tom Kohler-Cadmore added 50-run in just three overs.

Former India batter Suresh Raina scored a two-ball duck.

With the wickets tumbling around him, Pooran unleashed his brutal on-slaught, scoring an unbeaten 77 off just 33 balls. 

Fellow countryman Odean Smith added 23 runs down the order, helping the Gladiators to 134.

Fabian Allen and Peter Hatzoglou claimed two wickets each for Abu Dhabi.

Fresh from winning the T20 World Cup, Alex Hales managed just eight runs. James Vince did try to bring some normalcy to a faltering batting display but managed just 35 runs.

Allen did his level best, but with wickets falling in heaps, the Windies all-rounder was unable to get his side to safely.

Deccan Gladiators 134-6 (10)

Nicholas Pooran 77 (33), Odean Smith 23;

Peter Hatzoglou 2-12 (2),Fabian Allen 2-18 (2)

Team Abu Dhabi 99-6 (10)

James Vince 37 (19), Fabian Allen 26 (13)

Tom Helm 2-11 (2), Zahoor Khan 2-21 (2)

Deccan Gladiators won by 35 runs

Also Read: India looking forward to taking on New Zealand pacers in their backyard: Dhawan