Jatin ∙ Mar 26 2023, 10:59 PM | 2 Min Read

New Zealand Announce squads for Sri Lanka and Pakistan T20I series, Tom Latham to lead

image-lfpocbxoLatham to lead the side [Twitter]

New Zealand Cricket, on Friday, announced the T20I squads for the series against Sri Lanka (home) and Pakistan (away). Tom Latham will make his return to international T20 cricket after a hiatus since 2021. The veteran opener has been appointed as the captain of the sides for both the series.

The squads will feature several players returning to international T20 cricket on the back of strong performances in both domestic and international cricket, along with potential T20 debutants Chad Bowes and Henry Shipley.

The team for Sri Lanka and Pakistan will be split, with 13 players named for the three-game T20I series against Sri Lanka, followed by a 15-man strong squad that will depart for Pakistan on April 9. Tim Seifert, who has been selected in the squad for the home series against Sri Lanka, will not travel to Pakistan as he and his wife are expecting their first child.

Cole McConchie, Rachin Ravindra, and Tim Seifert have been included in the T20I squad for the first time after a long gap since 2021. Dane Cleaver, Cole McConchie, and Blair Tickner are the new players to be added to the group when the squad moves to Pakistan.

“We saw against India earlier this season the power and range of shots that Tom possess. His adaptability also means he can feature in a range of batting positions. He led an inexperienced T20 squad to Bangladesh in 2021 and we were really impressed with his leadership of that group during a COVID bubble tour.” said coach Gary Stead in a statement released by NZC.

New Zealand squad for Sri Lanka T20I series

Tom Latham (c & wk), Chad Bowes,Mark Chapman, Matt Henry, Ben Lister, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Rachin Ravindra, Tim Seifert, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Will Young

New Zealand squad for Pakistan T20I series

Tom Latham (c & wk), Chad Bowes, Mark Chapman, Dane Cleaver, Matt Henry, Ben Lister, Adam Milne, Cole McConchie, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Rachin Ravindra, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, Will Young