• Home
  • Cricket News
  • Sunrisers Eastern Cape Suffer Setback As Sisanda Magala Craig Overton Ruled Out Of Sa20

Sunrisers Eastern Cape Suffer Setback As Sisanda Magala & Craig Overton Ruled Out Of SA20

image-lr50v8y9Craig Overton & Sisanda Magala are ruled out for the SA20 season due to injuries.(x.com)

In a major setback to the reigning champions, Sunrisers Eastern Cape, the upcoming second edition of Cricket South Africa's SA20 league is marred by the absence of key players. 

With just days left before the tournament's commencement on January 10, the Eastern Cape franchise announced that the unavailability of fast bowlers Sisanda Magala and Craig Overton has weakened their pace arsenal.

Injury Woes for Sunrisers Eastern Cape

Sisanda Magala, a crucial member of the team's title-winning campaign last year, has not seen competitive action since October. His absence is a significant blow to the squad, given his stellar performance with 14 wickets in the previous season. 

On the other hand, English all-rounder Craig Overton, who joined the franchise as a wild card player last year, has undergone back surgery, ruling him out of the SA20 season. Overton's previous appearance dates back to August, and his persistent injury struggles, including hand webbing issues and infra-patellar tendinopathy, have hindered his return to the field.

Replacements Announced as Sunrisers Eastern Cape Adjusts Squad

Reacting swiftly to the unfortunate developments, Sunrisers Eastern Cape confirmed the inclusion of batting all-rounder Patrick Kruger as the replacement for the injured Magala. The franchise hopes Kruger's skills will contribute positively to their campaign, compensating for the absence of the seasoned Magala.

Despite the setbacks, Sunrisers Eastern Cape is determined to defend their SA20 title. The team, led by Aiden Markram, emerged victorious in the inaugural edition by defeating Pretoria Capitals in the final. 

Markram, a key player for the franchise, was not only the third-highest run-scorer in the previous season but also claimed 11 wickets, earning him the Player of the Series accolade.

The upcoming SA20 season is set to kick off on January 10, featuring IPL owners for all six local franchises. 

The league promises an exciting clash between Durban Super Giants, Joburg Super Kings, MI Cape Town, Paarl Royals, Sunrisers Eastern Cape, and Pretoria Capitals. Notably, the tournament marks the first T20 league outside India with IPL owners for all participating franchises.

Sunrisers Eastern Cape boasts a formidable lineup, with England's ODI World Cup leading run-scorer David Malan reinforcing the batting order. Tristan Stubbs and Sarel Ervay are expected to strengthen the middle order, complemented by quality all-rounders Marco Janssen, Liam Dawson, and Tom Abell. 

Discover more