• Home
  • Cricket News
  • Slc Invitational T20 League 2022 Slc Reds Vs Slc Greens Dickwellas Fifty Tames Reds As Greens Forge Thrilling Win

Dickwella's fifty tames Reds as Greens forge thrilling win

In what panned out as a thriller, the battle between SLC Greens and SLC Reds landed in the former's favour that saw them eke out an eight-run victory in the third match of the SLC Invitational T20 League 2022.


Niroshan Dickwella's sumptuous half-century was the highlight of the first innings as the Greens made their way to 161/6 in the 20 overs. An eight-ball 19 from Sahan Arachchige pumped up the Reds camp, however, the side ultimately fell short of the target by eight runs, finishing at 153/5.

Discipline reaps rewards for Greens

As the toss did not go in the favour of Kusal Mendis and Co., they had to chase the set total. With 162 runs to get, the situation demanded wise heads.  

The opening stand of 61 runs between skipper Mendis and Lasith Croospulle laid a firm foundation. However, a steep fall, courtesy of disciplined bowling by the Greens, threw the Reds out of the game.

Arachchige hit a few lusty blows to fill in hope within his side. However, his contribution ended in a losing cause.

Dickwella mangles Reds

Coming to bat as an opener, Dickwella stayed not-out till the end, scoring a 76-run knock in the process. The wicketkeeper's scintillating display of batsmanship led to his side's aid and tapered off their woes with the bat.

With little to no support from his partners, Dickwella single-handedly helped his side reach 161/6. Reds' skipper Shanaka and all-rounder Dhananjaya Lakshan added to the team's total with their handy cameos.

SLC Greens will face-off SLC Greys on August 13, while SLC Reds will go head-to-head versus SLC Blues on the same day.

Brief scores:

SLC Greens - 161/6 (20)
Niroshan Dickwella 76* (56), Dasun Shanaka 21 (12);
Asitha Fernando 2-32 (4)

SLC Reds - 153/5 (20)
Bhanuka Rajapaksa 34 (28), Lasith Croospulle 31 (24);
Ramesh Mendis 1-22 (4), Nimesh Vimukthi 1-23 (3)

SLC Greens won by eight runs

Read more: The Hundred Women: Top 5 run-scorers of all time