• Home
  • Cricket News
  • Slc Invitational T20 League 2022 Slc Blues Vs Slc Reds Kusal Hasaranga Topples Blues As Reds Enter Final
Aayush Mahajan ∙ Aug 14 2022, 9:00 AM | 2 Min Read

SLC Invitational T20 League 2022, SLC Blues vs SLC Reds: Kusal, Hasaranga topples Blues as Reds enter final

image-l6s8hw06Wanindu Hasaranga scored unbeaten 69 runs vs SLC Blues (PC: Twitter/@OfficialSLC)

As it happened, the sixth match of the SLC Invitational T20 League 2022 between SLC Blues and SLC Reds was clinched by the latter, who enjoyed a 33-run victory. 

An all-round show by Wanindu Hasaranga and a captain's knock coming from the bat of Kusal Mendis helped the Reds establish their footing in the match. On the contrary, the Blues suffered their first defeat in the competition, albeit, will still play the final.

Kusal, Hasaranga's batting masterclass send Blues in dumps

For a side who headed into this fixture on the back of successive wins, the Reds were required to take the bull by the horns. While the chances of it happening did not look very bright at the start of the innings after the Reds opted to bat, Kusal and Hasaranga joined forces to carve out a rather lively batting display.

From 53/3, the Sri Lankan internationals utilised their experience in the best way possible. The duo stitched a 125-run partnership that was full of ingredients to make a tasty dish.

Mendis and Hasaranga scored 86 and 69* runs, respectively to help the Reds finish at 178/4 in their 20 overs.

Hasaranga at it de novo!

If his sensational innings were not enough, the leg spinner brought his bowling tricks into focus in the second innings, picking up two crucial wickets.

Set on the pursuit of 179 runs, it all did not boil down well for Dhananjaya de Silva and Co. None of the Blues' batters were prompt in their approach as they lacked pace throughout the innings.

The Blues were eventually dusted for 145 with the 20 overs coming to an end. Along with Hasaranga, Asitha Fernando also bagged two wickets in the affair.

The two teams will now bump heads in the final of the tournament, scheduled on August 15.

Brief scores:

SLC Reds - 178/4 (20)

Kusal Mendis 86 (60); Wanindu Hasaranga 69* (41);
Suminda Lakshan 2-29 (4), Dilshan Madushanka 1-30 (4)

SLC Blues - 145/6 (20)

Sadeera Samarawickrama 40 (38), Lahiru Udara 35 (25);
Wanindu Hasaranga 2-18 (4), Asitha Fernando 2-25 (4)

SLC Reds won by 33 runs

Read more: Sikandar Raza picks Virat Kohli over Babar Azam, names MS Dhoni as his favourite captain